Wednesday, 25 February 2004

Ceisteanna (56)

Joan Burton


142 Ms Burton asked the Taoiseach the appointments made by him to all companies, boards or agencies operating under the aegis of his Department since 6 June 2002; the persons appointed; and the dates on which the appointments were made. [6267/04]

Amharc ar fhreagra

Freagraí scríofa (Ceist ar Taoiseach)

The bodies under the aegis of my Department are: the National Statistics Board; the National Economic and Social Council, NESC; the National Economic and Social Forum, NESF; the Information Society Commission; the National Centre for Partnership and Performance, NCPP; the Law Reform Commission; and International Financial Services Centre groups.

The appointments made by me to these bodies since June 2002 are set out in the following table.



Date of Appointment

National Economic & Social Council

Mr. Jack O’Connor (SIPTU)

All made in Sept/Oct 2003

Ms. Aileen O’Donoghue (IBEC)

Ms. Deirdre Garvey (The Wheel)

Mr. John Mark McCafferty (St. Vincent de Paul)

Mr. John Dolan (Disability Federation of Ireland)

Mr. Niall Callan (Dept. of Environment Heritage & Local Government)

Mr. Colin Hunt (Goodbody Stockbrokers)

Prof. Brigid Laffan (UCD)

Prof. John Fitzgerald (ESRI)

Prof. Eithne McLaughlin (Queens University)

Mr. Peter Bacon (Economic Consultant)

National Centre for Partnership &Performance

Mr. John Walsh (Dept. Enterprise, Trade &Employment) Mr. Fergus Whelan (ICTU)

July 2002November 2003

IFSC Clearing House Group

Mr. Walter Brazil (AIB Capital Markets)

Reconstituted November 2002

Mr. Gavin Caldwell

Mr. Denis Casey (Irish Life & Permanent)

Mr. Brian Collins (Bank of Ireland Security Services)

Mr. Peter Coyne (Dublin Docklands Development Authority)

Mr. Colm Doherty (AIB Capital Markets)

Mr. Brian Goggin (Bank of Ireland)

Mr. John Larkin (William Fry Solicitors)

Ms Aileen O’Donoghue (Financial Services Ireland)

Mr. Michael Ryan (Merrill Lynch Capital Markets Bank Ltd)

Mr. Willie Slattery (State Street International Ireland Ltd)

Mr. Pat Wall (PriceWaterhouseCooper)

National Economic & Social Forum

Of the 62 NESF members, 50 are appointed by nominating bodies, five members are ex-officio and five independent members are appointed by the Government. The five NESF independent appointments are: Dr. Mary P. Corcoran (NUI, Maynooth) Cáit Keane (South Dublin Co Council) Dr. Colm Harmon (UCD) Dr. Brian Nolan (ESRI) Mr. Paul Tansey (Economist) The Government also appoints the Chair and Deputy Chair.

Reconstitution of the NESF has recently been finalised. Members appointed during January/February 2004.

National Statistics Board

Professor Brendan Walsh (UCD) Chair,

Reconstituted with effect from 09 February 2004.

Dr. Patricia O’Hara (Western Development Commission)

Ms Mary Doyle (Assistant Secretary, Department of the Taoiseach)

National Statistics Board—contd.

Mr. Derek Moran, (Assistant Secretary, Department of Finance)

Ms Paula Carey, (ICTU Trade Union Pillar nominee)

Mr. Ciaran Dolan, (ICMSA, Farming Pillar nominee)

Mr. Frank Cuneen, (Business Pillar nominee)

Mr. Donal Garvey, Director General of the CSO is a member of the Board ex-officio