Léim ar aghaidh chuig an bpríomhábhar

Teaching Qualifications.

Dáil Éireann Debate, Tuesday - 5 December 2006

Tuesday, 5 December 2006

Ceisteanna (425)

Brendan Howlin


453 Mr. Howlin asked the Minister for Education and Science the basis on which a person (details supplied) in County Wexford has been informed by her Department that their higher diploma in education is not recognised and that they must undertake SCG in order to teach here; and if she will make a statement on the matter. [41103/06]

Amharc ar fhreagra

Freagraí scríofa (Ceist ar Minister for Education and Science)

Teachers trained outside the jurisdiction of the State, whose qualifications have been assessed and accepted by my Department, but who do not possess an appropriate Irish language qualification, are granted a five year period of provisional recognition to teach in mainstream classes in national schools. During this period these teachers are expected to obtain their Irish language qualification, Scrúdú le hAghaidh Cáilíochta sa Ghaeilge (SCG), in order to become fully recognised as mainstream class teachers, learning support teachers, and home/school/community/liaison teachers. They must also provide certification that they have resided in the Gaeltacht while attending an approved three-week course or its aggregated equivalent.

Teachers who had acquired a university degree in Irish were required to sit the SCG in common with other teachers but they had exemption from Paper II. Under the new arrangement, candidates, who have Irish as a major subject at primary degree level, including the person referred to by the Deputy, will be required to take the practical test, which incorporates three elements — to teach an Irish lesson, to take the theory test and to compile a portfolio of materials as a resource for the teaching of Irish — which will form a part of the SCG for all candidates from 1st September, 2006 onwards.