Léim ar aghaidh chuig an bpríomhábhar

Departmental Bodies

Dáil Éireann Debate, Thursday - 9 February 2012

Thursday, 9 February 2012

Ceisteanna (71)

Éamon Ó Cuív


70 Deputy Éamon Ó Cuív asked the Minister for Finance the number of agencies, authorities, boards, committees, workings groups, tribunals, council services, task forces, agencies, or other quangos set up by him since February 2011; the number abolished since then; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [7527/12]

Amharc ar fhreagra

Freagraí scríofa (Ceist ar Minister for Finance)

In response to the Deputy's question the following bodies under the aegis of my Department have been set up or abolished since February 2011: New Economy and Recovery Authority (NewERA) was established within the National Treasury Management Agency (NTMA). The Fiscal Advisory Council has been established as an independent non-statutory body. It will be put on a statutory basis underpinned by legislation to be brought forward by Government in the coming months in the proposed Fiscal Responsibility Bill. The Commission on Credit Unions was established by Government Decision dated 31st May 2011. It met for the first time on 20th June 2011 and is to complete its work by 31st March 2012. The Commission of Investigation into the Banking Sector was established by Government Order on 21 September 2010. The Commission was dissolved following the submission of its final report to the Minister for Finance on 22 March 2011. The Commission's report was laid before the Houses of the Oireachtas on 19 April 2011.

I have announced my intention to ask a small group to advise me on the National Asset Management Agency (NAMA) . Mr Michael Geoghegan will act as chairman of the group.