Léim ar aghaidh chuig an bpríomhábhar

Ministerial Allowances

Dáil Éireann Debate, Thursday - 26 May 2016

Thursday, 26 May 2016

Ceisteanna (165)

Dara Calleary


165. Deputy Dara Calleary asked the Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform the Ministers and Ministers of State in the Thirty-second Dáil who are eligible for annual funding under the leaders' allowance scheme and the maximum amount that can be paid to each in tabular form; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [12264/16]

Amharc ar fhreagra

Freagraí scríofa (Ceist ar Public)

The Parliamentary Activities Allowance (formerly known as the Party Leader's Allowance) is provided for in the Ministerial and Parliamentary Offices Act 1938 as amended, most recently by the Oireachtas (Ministerial and Parliamentary Offices)(Amendment) Act, 2014.

The allowance is paid to the parliamentary leader of a qualifying party in relation to expenses arising from the parliamentary activities, including research, of the party. Payments are made in respect of members of the party elected to Dáil Éireann and members elected/nominated to Seanad Éireann at the last preceding general election or a subsequent bye-election or, in the case of Seanad Éireann, nominated to it after the last preceding general election. The legislation also provides that payments may be made to a member of Dáil or Seanad Éireann who is elected other than as a member of a qualifying party-i.e. an Independent member.

The conditions governing entitlement to payment of the allowance are set out in the Act. The primary restriction in the Act on the use of the allowance is that it may not be used in respect of election expenses.

The legislation provides that each party leader and independent member must prepare a statement of expenditure for the allowance, to have it audited by an independent auditor and furnish it with the auditor's report to the Standards in Public Office (the Commission) Commission. Based on the accounts submitted, the Commission is required to make a report in relation to the use of the Parliamentary Activities Allowance and cause a copy of the report to be laid before the Oireachtas.

The amount payable to party leaders is calculated on a tiered basis by reference to the number of party members who are elected or nominated to the Dáil or Seanad and is fixed at the time of the election, or following a bye-election, as follows:

Party TDs

Annual Rate per Member

Government Parties

First 10 Members



11 to 30 Members



More than 30 Members



The legislation provides that, in the case of a qualifying party forming part of the Government, the combined allowances due in respect of TDs of that party are reduced by one third.

Party Senators

Annual Rate per Member

First 5 Members


More than 5 Members


Independent Members

The annual rates applicable to Independent members are: TD €37,037 ; Senator €21,045.

On that basis, and pending the Taoiseach's nominees to Seanad Éireann, the annual rates currently applicable to political parties are as follows:


Annual Rate per annum

Fianna Fáil


Fine Gael


Sinn Féin


Labour Party



€ 386,208

Independents 4 Change


Social Democrats


Green Party


The annual rate applicable to Ministers and Ministers of State elected as Independent members of Dáil Éireann - i.e. Ministers Naughten, Ross and Zappone; and Ministers of State Canney, Halligan and McGrath - is €37,037.