Tuesday, 27 September 2016

Ceisteanna (82)

John Lahart


82. Deputy John Lahart asked the Taoiseach the current position regarding the north east inner city initiative he announced in July 2016; the number of times the ministerial task force he chairs has met; the Ministers who are members of this task force; when he anticipates a report from a person (details supplied); and if he will make a statement on the matter. [27365/16]

Amharc ar fhreagra

Freagraí scríofa (Ceist ar Taoiseach)

Since I declared my intention to respond to the challenges facing the people of the North East Inner City Dublin earlier this year, I have been involved in a number of meetings involving relevant Ministers, public representatives, community groups and local residents. I subsequently launched a major initiative for the area on 20 July with the establishment of a Ministerial Taskforce to oversee the long-term social and economic regeneration of the area.

To support the work of the Ministerial Taskforce, which I Chair, Mr Kieran Mulvey has been appointed to engage with the local community groups, representatives and other interests, and to report back with specific recommendations.

A number of immediate measures were also announced to help the community address some of the immediate challenges facing it.

The Ministerial Taskforce met recently on 15 September and was briefed by Mr Mulvey on his work to date which has mainly involved many meetings with people in the area, including community groups, residents, businesses, public representatives, educational institutions and public agencies. He will continue his programme of meetings and has invited short submissions to bemade by individuals or groups to him over the coming weeks. He remains on track to submit his report by end-November.

The membership of the Ministerial Taskforce is:

Taoiseach (Chair)

Tánaiste and Minister for Justice and Equality

Minister for Education and Skills

Minister for Social Protection

Minister for Children and Youth Affairs

Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform

Minister of State for Housing and Urban Renewal

Minister of State for Communities and National Drugs Strategy

Minister of State for Tourism and Sport

Minister of State for Disability Issues

Questions Nos. 83 and 84 answered with Question No. 54.