Tuesday, 29 September 2020

Ceisteanna (688)

Darren O'Rourke


688. Deputy Darren O'Rourke asked the Minister for Justice the number of persons who have been refused entry to the State for a failure to complete the passenger locator form; and if she will make a statement on the matter. [27233/20]

Amharc ar fhreagra

Freagraí scríofa (Ceist ar Justice)

The Border Management Unit (BMU) of my Department has responsibility for securing Ireland’s border at Dublin Airport, in accordance with the provisions of the Immigration Acts and Orders as they relate to entry and refusal of entry to the State.

The BMU collected and checked Public Health Passenger Locator Forms at Dublin Airport between 28 April 2020 and 25 August 2020, and undertook the follow-up phone calls on arrivals into Dublin Airport and all other ports of entry nationwide on behalf of the health authorities. This follow-up function transferred to the Department of Health on 26 August 2020. The BMU still collect and check the passenger locator forms at Dublin Airport.

The mandatory regime, as set out in the Health Act 1947 (Section 31A Temporary Restrictions) (Covid-19 Passenger Locator Form) Regulations 2020, for completion of Public Health Passenger Locator Forms by all arriving passengers into the State (excluding the exempt categories) came into effect on 28 May 2020.

Any passenger refusing to complete the mandatory form at Dublin Airport is referred to the Garda National Immigration Bureau (GNIB).

To date, five passengers at Dublin Airport have been referred to the GNIB for refusing to complete a form and all five were granted leave to land. The GNIB is currently following up with four of these five people, with the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions.