Wednesday, 14 October 2020

Ceisteanna (131)

Joan Collins


131. Deputy Joan Collins asked the Minister for Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media if the provisions of the Broadcasting Act 2009 could be extended to allow for Nations League matches to be shown live on terrestrial television as is the case for the European Championships and the World Cup. [30482/20]

Amharc ar fhreagra

Freagraí scríofa (Ceist ar Tourism)

The Audiovisual Media Services Directive (AVMSD) provides that Member States may designate sporting and cultural events of major importance to society as free-to-air. At a national level, the Broadcasting Act 2009 sets out the statutory process for designating events as free-to-air.

Under the 2009 Act, I am obliged to review the list of designated events every three years. The purpose of the review is to consider the appropriateness of the current list of designated events and to examine whether to add any events of major importance to society.

The most recent review was finalised in 2017. Approval was received from the European Commission to designate the All Ireland Senior Ladies Football and Camogie Finals as events of major importance in May 2017 . In accordance with Section 173(2) of the Act, the next review is scheduled to commence shortly. My Department will be launching a public consultation seeking submissions on events that may be eligible for consideration.

The current list is as set out below.


- The All Ireland Senior Ladies Football Final

- The All Ireland Senior Camogie Final

- The Summer Olympics

- The All-Ireland Senior Inter-County Football & Hurling Finals

- Ireland’s home and away qualifying games in the European Football Championship and the FIFA World Cup Tournaments

- Ireland’s games in the European Football Championship Finals Tournament and the FIFA World Cup Finals Tournament

- Ireland’s games in the Rugby World Cup Finals Tournament

- The Irish Grand National and the Irish Derby

- The Nations Cup at the Dublin Horse Show


- Ireland’s games in the Six Nations Rugby Football Championship