Léim ar aghaidh chuig an bpríomhábhar

National Broadband Plan

Dáil Éireann Debate, Tuesday - 1 June 2021

Tuesday, 1 June 2021

Ceisteanna (97)

Rose Conway-Walsh


97. Deputy Rose Conway-Walsh asked the Minister for the Environment, Climate and Communications the status of the National Broadband Plan in County Mayo; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [29461/21]

Amharc ar fhreagra

Freagraí scríofa (Ceist ar Environment)

I propose to take Questions Nos. 97 and 103 together. 85 and 91 together

There are 36,615  premises in the Intervention Area in County Mayo  that will receive access to high speed broadband under the National Broadband Plan. I am advised that as of 27 May, 8,281  (22.6%) of these have been surveyed by National Broadband Ireland (NBI). Surveying is the first step to delivering the new fibre network and informs design solutions for fibre network provision.

Detailed designs are used to initiate the ‘make ready’ project with Open eir, where Open eir ensure poles and ducts being reused are fit for purpose and are made ready for other required infrastructure. Equipment ordering decisions are dependent on this step. Survey data is required to initiate pre-works paving the way for fibre deployment. Pre-works involve construction of new duct routes, erection of poles, building chambers and tree trimming. On completion of pre-works, the main construction works can commence.

I am advised by NBI that surveys are completed or ongoing in Aghagower, Ballyhean, Breaghwy, Burren, Castlebar, Clogher, Cloonkeen, Croaghmoyle, Islandeady, Killavally, Manulla, Pontoon, Strade, Tawnynagry, Turlough, Drumsheen, Bunnyconnellan, Ballina Town, Carrowntreila, Ardagh, Campbells Crossroads, Rosserk, Shanvoley, Derryhick, Kilhale, Tawnylaheen, Turlough, Ballyvary, Keeloges, Castlebar Town, Rinnaseer, Bellaburke, Killawullaun Mountain, Carn, Carnacon, Ballyglass, Belcarra, Balla and Ringarraun, Newport, Carrowbeg, Inishgort, Inishcottle, Myna, Fahy, Ashbridge, Glenisland, Srahmore, Glenhest, Comploon, Slogger and Tawnameeltoge. Pre-works have commenced in areas around Castlebar and Ballina.Further details are available on specific areas in Mayo through the NBI website www.NBI.ie which provides a facility for any premises within the intervention area to register their interest in being provided with deployment updates through its website.

Broadband Connection Points (BCPs) are a key element of the NBP providing high speed broadband in every county in advance of the roll out of the fibre to the home network. As of 27 May, 317 Broadband Connection Points sites have been installed by NBI. A number of BCPs are connected in County Mayo  including Bofeenaun Community Centre,Taugheen Community Centre, Kilmovee Community Centre, Belderrig Community & Research Centre, Clare Island Community Centre, Keel Community Centre, Killaser Community Centre, Islandeady Community Centre, Finny Community Centre and Cushlough Community Centre.

Cloghans National School, Scoil Néifinn, Midfield National School, Meelick More National School, Kinaffe National School, Facefield National School, Errew National School, Shraigh National School, Rathbane National School, Rathnamagh National School, Dookinella National School, Tavraun Central National School and Saint Coleman's National School are installed as part of this initiative.