Léim ar aghaidh chuig an bpríomhábhar

Departmental Programmes

Dáil Éireann Debate, Thursday - 4 November 2021

Thursday, 4 November 2021

Ceisteanna (119)

Alan Dillon


119. Deputy Alan Dillon asked the Minister for Transport the details of the funding allocated as part of Budget 2022 to the Safe Routes to School Programme; the projects that are progressing in County Mayo as part of round one; when further rounds are likely to take place; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [53569/21]

Amharc ar fhreagra

Freagraí scríofa (Ceist ar Transport)

In March, I was delighted to launch the Safe Routes to School (SRTS) Programme which will support Active Travel infrastructure for selected schools around the country. The programme aims to support walking, scooting and cycling to primary and post-primary schools and to create safer walking and cycling routes within communities. This will help alleviate congestion at school gates and increase the number of students who walk or cycle to school by providing the necessary infrastructure.

All schools were eligible to apply to the programme and information was circulated from the Departments of Education and Transport to schools nationwide. By the deadline of 16th April, 931 applications had been received from schools in every county in Ireland. 170 schools were notified on 21st June that they have been selected for inclusion in the first round of the SRTS Programme.

€15m has been allocated for projects at the 170 schools included in Round One. The subsequent schools will be engaged with on a rolling basis in each local authority. This money is being provided from the €1.8 billion funding earmarked in the Programme for Government to support sustainable transport. The required investment at each school will be dependent on the changes required in each particular case. The €15m budget covers a period longer than 2022 as most interventions at/near every applicable school will take time to implement and if they require planning may take a number of years to progress. The budget for cycle parking element of SRTS in 2022 will be €3m.

I am pleased to inform the Deputy that the 7 schools listed below in County Mayo are included in Round 1 of the Programme, as folllows:

- Brackloon NS, Brackloon, Westport

- St. Colman's College, Claremorris, Claremorris

- Cong NS, Nymphsfield, Cong

- Carn NS, Killeennashask, Garranard, Ballina

- Scoil Iosa, Convent Hill, Ballina

- Davitt College, Springfield, Castlebar

- Gaelscoil Raifteirí Faiche an Aonaigh, Castlebar

The schools selected were assessed against a range of criteria including school type, location and the school’s commitment to sustainable travel.

Schools that have applied this year which have not been included in the first round of funding will not be required to reapply as they will come into the programme on a rolling basis. Hence there are no plans for an additional call for schools to join the SRTS programme at this time.