22 Samh 2011, 14.57

Minister for Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation, Richard Bruton, TD, and Minster of State at the Department of Education and Skills, Ciarán Cannon, TD, will appear before the Committee on Jobs, Social Protection and Education tomorrow, Wednesday, 23rd November.

Minister Bruton will brief the Committee ahead of the next EU Council of Mnisters’ meeting on competitiveness on December 5th and Minister of State Cannon will address the Committee ahead of the EU Council of Ministers’ meeting on education, youth and culture on November 28th.

Chairman of the Committee Deputy Damien English said: “Under their terms of reference Oireachtas Committees will play a key role in ensuring that EU legislation, proposals and policies are properly examined. In advance of EU Council meetings Ministers are also invited to brief Committees on the forthcoming agenda and on the outcome of the previous meeting.

Therefore, it is timely and welcome that both Ministers have agreed to address the Committee ahead of the EU Council of Ministers’ meetings in the coming weeks.

The Committee will have an opportunity to consider the Government’s approach to the items for discussion and to make known our views in advance of the Ministers’ participation in Council meetings.”

This meeting will take place on Wednesday 23rd November in Committee Room 3, Leinster House 2000 at 9.30am.

Committee proceedings can be followed live at:

For further information please contact:

Ciaran Brennan,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2

P: +3531 618 3903
M: 086-0496518
F: +3531 618 4551

Committee on Jobs, Social Protection and Education


Damien English, TD (Chairman)
Ray Butler, TD
Áine Collins, TD
Joan Collins, TD
Michael Conaghan, TD
Barry Cowen, TD
Seán Crowe, TD
Tom Fleming, TD
Brendan Griffin, TD
John Halligan, TD
Seán Kyne, TD
Anthony Lawlor, TD
John Lyons, TD
Nicky McFadden, TD
Mary Mitchell O’Connor, TD
Aodhán Ó Ríordáin, TD
Aengus Ó Snodaigh, TD
Willie O’Dea, TD
Brendan Ryan, TD
Brendan Smith, TD
Peadar Tóibín, TD