23 Samh 2011, 17.29

Presentations by a number of interested parties to the Sub-Committee on Penal Reform today offered a valuable contribution to the debate on penal reform and non-custodial alternatives to imprisonment.

Speaking after today’s meeting, Chairman of the Committee, Deputy David Stanton said: “Today, we received a valuable contribution on the issue of penal reform from the Etruscan Life Training & Education Centre; the Prison Officers Association; PACE; and the Irish Penal Reform Trust. It is important to hear at first-hand from interested parties and get their perspectives on penal reform as we analyse the recommendations of the Thornton Hall Project Review Group in respect of non-custodial alternatives to imprisonment – in particular back-door strategies which involve some form of early release. It was certainly a worthwhile exercise and I would like to thank all of those who appeared before the Committee today for clear, thought-provoking and insightful presentations. This is just the start of a process and, as well as welcoming written submissions, we are looking forward to further engagements with other groups with an interest in this subject.

For further information please contact:

Ciaran Brennan,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2

P: +3531 618 3903
M: 086-0496518
F: +3531 618 4551

The Members of the sub-Committee are:


Jonathan O’Brien,
David Stanton (Chairman),
Billy Timmins
Joanna Tuffy


Ivana Bacik
Denis O’Donovan.

Damien English, TD (Chairman)
Ray Butler, TD
Áine Collins, TD
Joan Collins, TD
Michael Conaghan, TD
Barry Cowen, TD
Seán Crowe, TD
Tom Fleming, TD
Brendan Griffin, TD
John Halligan, TD
Seán Kyne, TD
Anthony Lawlor, TD
John Lyons, TD
Nicky McFadden, TD
Mary Mitchell O’Connor, TD
Aodhán Ó Ríordáin, TD
Aengus Ó Snodaigh, TD
Willie O’Dea, TD
Brendan Ryan, TD
Brendan Smith, TD
Peadar Tóibín, TD


Deirdre Clune,
John Kelly,
Michael Mullins,
Marie Louise O’Donnell,
Averil Power,
Feargal Quinn