23 Samh 2011, 17.03

Minister for Health, James Reilly TD and CEO of the Health Service Executive (HSE), Cathal Magee will be questioned together at the Joint Oireachtas Committee on Health and Children, tomorrow, 24th November.

The meeting will provide an opportunity for committee members to question the two individuals who are in charge of the agencies with principle responsibility for delivering the country’s health and social care services.
Some of the issues which may come up for discussion at the committee include:

• Cost of medicines;
• Inspection of children’s disability home;
• The budgetary situation for acute hospitals;
• Autism services; and
• Home care services.

Committee Chairman, Jerry Buttimer TD said: “The provision and management of the country’s health services are of importance to everyone and our focus must be patient safety and the delivery of services which comply with modern best practice.
The Committee has an important role in monitoring the work and roles of the Department and the HSE. Tomorrow’s meeting will allow the members of the committee to directly question those charged with running the country’s health and childcare services and to raise issues or concerns they may have in a number of areas.”
This meeting will take place in Committee Room 2 Leinster House at 10am on Thursday, 24th November.

Committee proceedings can be followed live at:

For further information please contact:

Ciaran Brennan,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2

P: +3531 618 3903
M: 086-0496518
F: +3531 618 4551


Committee Membership:
Jerry Buttimer, Fine Gael
Catherine Byrne, Fine Gael
Michael Colreavy, Sinn Fein
Ciara Conway, Labour Party
Regina Doherty, Fine Gael
Robert Dowds, Labour Party
Peter Fitzpatrick, Fine Gael
Seamus Healy, Independent
Derek Keating, Fine Gael
Billy Kelleher, Fine Fail
Eamonn Maloney, Labour Party
Charlie McConalogue, Fianna Fail
Mattie McGrath, Independent
Denis Naughten, Fine Gael
Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin, Sinn Fein

Colm Burke, Fine Gael
John Crown, Independent
David Cullinane, Sine Fein
John Gilroy, Labour Party
Imelda Henry, Fine Gael
Marc Mac Sharry, Fine Fail
Jillian Van Turnhout, Independent