Léim ar aghaidh chuig an bpríomhábhar

IBRC, AIB and Bank of Ireland executives to appear before Finance Committee next week

26 DFómh 2012, 15.46

The Chairmen and Chief Executives from Irish Bank Resolution Corporation and AIB will appear before the Committee on Finance, Public Expenditure and Reform on Wednesday 31st October 2012.

On Thursday, 1st November, the Chairman and Chief Executive of Bank of Ireland will address the Committee on its operations and functions.

Ciarán Lynch, TD, Chairman of the Committee on Finance, Public Expenditure and Reform, said: “As part of the Committee’s banking module, the chairmen and chief executives of IBRC and AIB will attend our meeting next Wednesday and Bank of Ireland next Thursday where we will question them on the operations and functions of their respective banks.

We will have a chance to get an overview of the current state of individual Irish banks and the banking sector in general. It will be a chance to tease out the latest developments in the sector, including the recapitalisation process, restructuring and rationalisation of the banks and examine how this may impact on branch numbers, staffing, customer service and lending.

In the light of recent conflicting statements and reports on the incidence of bank lending to small and medium sized businesses, the Committee will be keen to establish the true position in relation to lending by financial institutions.

The availability of credit is essential to business and the functioning of the economy and, as the Committee with responsibility for the banking sector, we are determined to ensure that there is a full airing of this issue, in the interests of all concerned.”

The meetings will start in Committee Room 4, Leinster House at 10am on Wednesday 31st October.

Session 1: 10 am - 1 pm Overview of operations and functioning of the Irish Bank Resolution Corporation Limited (IBRC) and
Session 2: 2 pm - 5.30 pm Overview of operations and functioning of Allied Irish Banks

On Thursday, 1st November, 2012 the Chairman and Chief Executive of Bank of Ireland will address the Committee on its operations and functions. This meeting will start at 10.30am in Committee Room 3.

Committee proceedings can be followed live at:

For further information please contact:

Ciaran Brennan,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2

P: +3531 618 3903
M: 086-0496518
F: +3531 618 4551

Committee Membership


Richard Boyd-Barret, People Before Profit
Michael Creed, Fine Gael
Jim Daly, Fine Gael
Pearse Doherty, Sinn Fein
Stephen Donnelly, Independent
Sean Fleming, Fianna Fáil
Joe Higgins, Socialist Party
Heather Humphreys, Fine Gael
Kevin Humphreys, Labour Party
Peter Mathews, Fine Gael
Mary Lou McDonald, Sinn Fein
Ciarán Lynch, Labour Party (Chairman)
Michael McGrath, Fianna Fáil
Michael McNamara, Labour Party
Dara Murphy, Fine Gael
Timmy Dooley, Fianna Fáil
Kieran O’Donnell, Fine Gael
Arthur Spring, Labour Party
Brian Stanley, Sinn Féin
Billy Timmins, Fine Gael
Liam Twomey, Fine Gael


Sean D Barrett
Thomas Byrne
Paul Coghlan
Michael D’Arcy
Aideen Hayden
Tom Sheahan