12 Meith 2018, 10.18

The Committee on Transport, Tourism and Sport will meet with Fiona Ross, Chairperson Designate, Córas Iompair Éireann (CIÉ) and Basil Geoghegan, Chairperson Designate, DAA on Wednesday, 13 June 2018.

The Committee will also continue its hearings on Accessibility to public transport for people with disabilities when it will hear from Dermot O'Leary, National Bus and Rail Union (NBRU); Diane Hill, Now Group; and Ciaran M. Delaney, Disability Activist

Committee Chairman Fergus O’Dowd said: “Those who are being proposed for appointment as chairpersons of State boards are now required to make themselves available to the appropriate Oireachtas Committee.

CIÉ and the DAA are important players in Ireland’s transport network. CIÉ is Ireland's national public transport provider and is the holding company for Bus Éireann, Dublin Bus and Iarnród Éireann. Our meeting tomorrow provides us with an opportunity to discuss with Fiona Ross what she sees are the priorities and challenges for the company in the coming years. DAA operates Dublin and Cork airports in Ireland and also has significant overseas businesses. Its principal activities include airport management, travel retailing and aviation consultancy. Again, we will be keen to hear Basil Geoghegan outline his priorities for the authority in the years ahead. Committee members will also have a chance to raise any issues they may have regarding each company.

We will also resume our hearings on accessibility to public transport for people with disabilities. Many people with disabilities depend on public transport to live and commute independently. The availability of, and access to, public transport is essential for many people with disabilities to play a full and active part in society, engage with their communities, access services and work. We’re looking forward to getting the perspectives of Dermot O'Leary, National Bus and Rail Union (NBRU); Diane Hill, Now Group; and Ciaran M. Delaney, Disability Activist on this issue.”

The Committee will start at 9.30am in Committee Room 4, Leinster House. Committee proceedings can be viewed live here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.

Media enquiries

Ciaran Brennan,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2
+353 1 618 3903
+353 86 0496518
Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee membership


Solidarity - People Before Profit

Sinn Féin

Social Democrats

Fergus O'Dowd - Cathaoirleach

Fine Gael

Fianna Fáil

Fine Gael

Fianna Fáil


Fine Gael

Fine Gael

Fianna Fáil