27 Beal 2019, 14.11

Tomorrow, Tuesday at 4pm, the Committee on Budgetary Oversight will commence the first of two sessions, with the national broadband plan to be discussed.

The first witness will be the Minister for Finance and Public Expenditure and Reform, Paschal Donohoe TD, with the budgetary and fiscal impact of the national broadband to be explored.
“The national broadband plan merits detailed consideration, it is a topic of great interest to people across the country” said Committee Chairman Colm Brophy TD.

“The perspective of the Minister for Finance and Public Expenditure and Reform on this topic will be invaluable, and it is important that the Committee members get the chance to raise any matters.”

During the second session, Mr. John Hogan, Assistant Secretary General in the Department of Finance, and representatives of the Inter-Departmental Local Property Tax Review Group, will come before the committee. The Review Group recently produced a report on Local Property Tax revaluation.

Ahead of the second session, on the Local Property Tax revaluation, Deputy Brophy said: “The Minister for Finance began a review of the Local Property Tax (LPT) during 2018 to look at the impact on LPT liabilities in the context of property price developments in advance of the revaluation date on November 1, 2019.

“The purpose of the review group was to inform the Minister in relation to any actions he may recommend to Government concerning the overall yield from LPT and its contribution to total tax revenue.  The review was conducted by an interdepartmental working group chaired by the Department of Finance which established a formal consultation process, and which is now complete.”

The meeting in Committee Room 3 can be viewed live here

Learn about the Committee’s recent reports, statements and membership here

Media enquiries

Alan Neary,
Tithe an Oireachtais,
Oifigeach Cumarsáide,
Teach Laighean, 
Baile Átha Cliath 2
+353 1 618 4743
+353 86 010 7500
Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee membership


Fine Gael

Solidarity - People Before Profit

Fianna Fáil

Colm Brophy - Cathaoirleach

Fine Gael

Independents 4 Change

Labour Party

Fianna Fáil

Fianna Fáil

Sinn Féin

Fine Gael

Fianna Fáil

Fianna Fáil

Green Party