Ceann Comhairle Seán Ó FearghaílSeán Ó Fearghaíl T.D., Ceann Comhairle

Seán Ó Fearghaíl, TD, Ceann Comhairle

Seán Ó Fearghaíl is the 19th Ceann Comhairle (Chairman) of Dáil Éireann (lower House of the Irish Parliament), having been elected on 10th March 2016. His election was the first to be conducted by secret ballot of the members of Dáil Éireann.

Representing the constituency of South Kildare, the Ceann Comhairle was a Senator from 2000 until his election as a TD (Teachta Dála) in 2002 and he has held his seat in each subsequent general election. In the 31st Dáil (2011-2016), the Ceann Comhairle was Party Whip for Fianna Fáil while also serving at his Party’s spokesman for Defence, Arts, Heritage and Culture, and Constitutional Affairs. He served as Chairman of the Oireachtas Health Committee from 2009 to 2011. Prior to his entry into national politics, the Ceann Comhairle served as a councillor on Kildare County Council, including Chairman of the Council, and has been involved in community, educational and housing organisations in his home county for many years. A gaeilgeoir (fluent Irish speaker), the Ceann Comhairle maintains strong links to the farming community in his home town of Kildare. The Ceann Comhairle is married to Mary Clare and has four children.

The constituency of South Kildare, established in 1997, is represented by three TDs and lies to the south west of Dublin in the province of Leinster. A predominantly rural constituency, its main towns include Athy, Newbridge and Kildare Town. Prominent landmarks include the Irish National Stud and Japanese Gardens, a number of world class horse racing venues, Newbridge Silverware Visitor Centre, and the Curragh, headquarters of the Irish Defence Forces.

Contact Details

Private Secretary: Brian Prunty
Email: ceann.comhairle@oireachtas.ie
Tel: + 353 1 6183343
Address: Dáil Éireann, Leinster House, Dublin 2, Ireland