1. No Minister or Director of a Department may act as Ceann Comhairle or Leas-Cheann Comhairle.
2. The term of office of the Ceann Comhairle and of the Leas-Cheann Comhairle shall be that of the Dáil, provided that the Dáil may at any time, by special resolution, remove either the Ceann Comhairle or the Leas-Cheann Comhairle.
3. In the case of the absence of the Ceann Comhairle and the Leas-Cheann Comhairle, the Dáil may appoint a Teachta to act as Ceann Comhairle for the time being.