Dáil Éireann schedule

Previous day

Today, 19 Sep 2019

Next day

The Seanad is currently in recess


days until Seanad Éireann resumes

Schedule of meetings

Previous day

Today, 19 Sep 2019

Next day
Business Papers


Dáil Question Paper (Thurs) (PDF)

Dáil Question Paper (Thurs)

Dáil Order Paper (Thurs) (PDF)

Dáil Order Paper (Thurs)

Dáil Éireann

Official Report latest update:

Today, 19 Sep 2019: 22 topics were published, which include 40 speakers and divisions of the House.

Seanad Éireann

Official Report latest update:

Fri, 12 Jul 2019: 4 topics were published, which include 30 speakers and divisions of the House.


Official Report latest update:

Meeting of the Joint Committee On Health on Wed, 18 Sep 2019.

PQs (Questions)

Official Report latest update:

Today, 19 Sep 2019: 11 Parliamentary Questions answered.

There are 158 Members (called Deputies or TDs) of Dáil Éireann.

There are 60 Members (called Senators) in Seanad Éireann.

Culture Night

Tickets for Culture Night this Friday in Leinster House are sold out. Do check our Eventbrite page for any cancellations. And don't forget you can visit Leinster House as a guest of a TD or Senator or on one of our regular guided tours.

Would you like to work for the Houses of the Oireachtas Service?

We are recruiting...

:: Parliamentary researcher (law), closing date 3pm on Thursday, 3 October 2019

:: Translators (Grades I, II and III), closing date 3pm on Friday, 4 October 2019

:: Equality, diversity and inclusion officer (HEO), closing date 3pm on Monday, 7 October 2019

Can you help the Oireachtas tackle online harassment?

The Committee on Justice and Equality plans to examine the problems of online cyber bullying, harassment, stalking, revenge porn and other forms of harmful communications and ways to address them.

The Committee invites interested people and organisations to send written submissions on the issue.

The closing date for receipt of submissions is Friday, 20 September 2019.

Press releases

18 Sep 2019, 09.58

Budgetary Oversight Committee highlights the need for a Policy change in how Local Property Tax is calculated

18 Sep 2019, 04.38

PAC to meet with Officials from Bord na gCon, the Irish Greyhound Board

17 Sep 2019, 14.03

Health Committee to receive update on CervicalCheck programme

17 Sep 2019, 13.47

Joint Committee on Transport, Tourism & Sport to continue discussions around National Development Plan

17 Sep 2019, 12.52

Joint Committee on Housing, Planning and Local Government to hear Rebuilding Ireland update from Minister Eoghan Murphy

Ireland: a parliamentary democracy

Ireland is a parliamentary democracy. The National Parliament (Oireachtas) consists of the President and two Houses: Dáil Éireann (House of Representatives) and Seanad Éireann (the Senate) whose functions and powers derive from the Constitution of Ireland enacted by the people on 1 July 1937. The Houses of the Oireachtas are situated at Leinster House, Dublin.

This year we celebrate Dáil100, the centenary of the First Dáil, which held its first public meeting on 21 January 1919.

Did you know?

In 1914, the RDS established the Radium Institute in Leinster House, and it was here that John Joly developed the first effective radiation treatment for cancer known as the “Dublin method”.

It has been said that a speech is a long narrow passage to a broad conclusion.
Professor William Magennis, Dáil Éireann, 19 September 1923

Recently considered Bills and Acts

18 Sep 2019

Before Dáil Éireann

Child Care (Amendment) Bill 2019

No. 66 of 2019

18 Sep 2019

Before Dáil Éireann

Investment Limited Partnerships (Amendment) Bill 2019

No. 42 of 2019

16 Sep 2019

Before Dáil Éireann

Thirty-ninth Amendment of the Constitution (Presidential Elections) Bill 2019

No. 68 of 2019

6 Sep 2019

Before Seanad Éireann

Education (Student and Parent Charter) Bill 2019

No. 67 of 2019