A basic salary is paid to TDs from the date of the election, subject to the TD signing the Roll of Members of Dáil Éireann within 30 days of the election. Similarly, a basic salary is paid to Senators from and including the date of election to the Seanad. Those members of the Seanad nominated by the Taoiseach are paid from their date of nomination. Salaries are subject to tax, PRSI, the universal social charge, pension levy and pension contribution.

These rates are effective from 1 October 2020.


Basic salary

Additional salaried allowance

TD €98,113 --
Senator €69,474 --
Taoiseach €98,113 €113,629*
Tánaiste €98,113 €97,118*
Minister €98,113 €81,100*
Minister of State(a) €98,113 €39,563*
Ceann Comhairle €98,113 €81,100
Leas-Cheann Comhairle €98,113 €39,563
Cathaoirleach €69,474 €46,939
Leas-Chathaoirleach €69,474 €25,863
Leader of the Seanad €69,474 €20,580
Deputy Leader of the Seanad €69,474 €9,500

* These allowances are paid by the individual Department to which the Minister is assigned.
(a)Payable to not more than two specified Ministers of State who regularly attend Government meetings.

Allowances for specified positions

Certain specified positions within the Houses of the Oireachtas also have an additional salaried allowance. These salaried allowances are also subject to tax, PRSI, the universal social charge, pension levy and pension contribution.

Position in Dáil Éireann

Additional salaried allowance

Assistant Government Whip €15,000
Fianna Fáil Party Whip €10,000
Fine Gael Party Whip €10,000
Green Party Whip €6,000
Sinn Féin Party Whip €19,000
Solidarity/People Before Profit Party Whip €6,000
Labour Party Whip €6,000
Social Democrats Party Whip €6,000
Fianna Fáil Party Assistant Whip €5,000
Fine Gael Party Assistant Whip €5,000
Green Party Assistant Whip €3,000
Sinn Féin Party Assistant Whip €9,500


Position in Seanad Éireann

Additional salaried allowance

Government Whip €6,000
Assistant Government Whip €4,000
Independents Group Leader €6,000
Sinn Féin Group Leader €6,000
Civil Engagement Group Leader €6,000
Labour Group Leader €6,000
Independents Group Whip €4,000
Sinn Féin Group Whip €4,000
Civil Engagement Group Whip €4,000
Labour Group Whip €4,000



Additional salaried allowance

Chairperson of Committee (TD) €9,500
Chairperson of Committee (Senator) €9,500
Commission Members (TD) €9,500
Commission Members (Senator) €9,500
Chairperson of Committee on Members' Interests of Seanad Éireann €3,100

Where a Member is Chairperson of more than one Committee, they are only eligible to be paid one allowance. In some cases, members have waived receipt of some allowances so a presumption should not be made that all of the above allowances are paid.

Last updated: 21 December 2020