Skip to main content
Normal View

Office holders

Each House, Dáil and Seanad, elects a chairperson and a deputy chairperson. The chairs are expected to act impartially, maintaining order in the Houses and ensuring all Members are treated fairly. If a division (vote) in either House results in a tie, the chair has the casting vote.

Find out more about the current office holders below or see a list of all former Cinn Comhairle and Cathaoirligh.

Ceann Comhairle

The Ceann Comhairle is the chairperson of Dáil Éireann. Given that the Ceann Comhairle cannot actively engage in politics, he or she is automatically re-elected in the subsequent general election.

Leas-Cheann Comhairle

The Leas-Cheann Comhairle is the deputy chairperson of the Dáil, and performs the same duties in the Dáil Chamber when the Ceann Comhairle is absent.


The Cathaoirleach is the chairperson of Seanad Éireann. The Cathaoirleach calls on Members to speak and keeps order in the House.


The Leas-Chathaoirleach is the deputy chairperson of the Seanad, and performs the same role in the Seanad Chamber when the Cathaoirleach is absent.