Ceisteanna—Questions. Oral Answers. - Membership of Department of Defence Boards.


asked the Minister for Defence the number of members of the various boards and committees under his aegis who have been replaced since his appointment; if he will state in respect of each such member, his name, the boards and committees on which he served and whether his term of appointment had expired; and the names of the new members.

Lieutenant General S. MacEoin and Dr. M. Finn, former chairman and ordinary member, respectively, of the Army Pensions Board were replaced in July, 1973. Appointees to the Army Pensions Board do not have a fixed term of appointment. Mr. H.D. Porter, BL, and Dr. A.E. Carragher, MD, DPH, have been appointed chairman and ordinary member respectively. In addition, the terms of office of 14 Government-nominated members of the Central Council of the Irish Red Cross Society expired with effect from the 1st August, 1973, and the Government, pursuant to article 8 (4) (a) of the Irish Red Cross Society Order, 1939, and article 2 (b) of the Irish Red Cross Society (Amendment) Order, 1973, nominated 14 members to hold office until the 30th April, 1976. Twelve of the previous Government-nominated members were not renominated and 12 new members were nominated in their place.

One of the previous Government-nominated members who were not renominated was also chairman of the society who, under article 9 (3) of the Irish Red Cross Society Order, 1939, thereby ceased to be chairman. A new chairman was nominated by the President under Article 9 (4) of the Irish Red Cross Society Order, 1939, to hold office for a period of three years from the 1st August, 1973. As the names of the 12 previous members of the Central Council of the Irish Red Cross Society and of those who replaced them are in the form of a tabular statement, I propose, with the permission of the Ceann Comhairle, to have them circulated with the Official Report.

Following is the statement:

Central Council, Irish Red Cross Society

Former Members

Leslie Bean Thomáis de Barra, 64 St. Patrick Street, Cork (Chairman).

Basil E. Booth, Esq., “The Leys,” Carrickmines, Co. Dublin.

Mrs. Jennie Dowdall, Dunsland, Glanmire, Co. Cork.

Very Rev. H. Dunne, D.D., P.P., Springlawn, Tubber, Moate, Co. Westmeath.

The Rev. Hubert Fee, C.C., Ballintogher, Sligo.

Miss Annie Kelly, Matron, St. Laurence's Hospital, North Brunswick Street, Dublin 7.

The Right Hon. Lord Killanin, 30 Lansdowne Road, Dublin.

Anthony P. McClafferty, Esq., F.H.C.I., “St. Judes,” Crosthwaite Park East, Dún Laoire, Co. Dublin.

Howard W. Robinson, Esq., F.C.A., 2 Lower Merrion Street, Dublin.

Dr. Angela Russell, 14 Bushy Park Road, Dublin 6.

Former Members

John P. Shanley, Esq., M.D., D.P.H., 17 Merrion Square, Dublin.

Seán Ó Cléitin, Uas., B.A., H. Dip. in Ed., 43 Hyde Park Ave., Blackrock, Co. Dublin.

New Members

Colonel Joseph Adams, 21 Wynberg Park, Blackrock, Co. Dublin (Chairman).

Mr. Frank Cahill, 6A Ashfield Estate, Templeogue, Dublin 6.

Dr. Victoria Coffey, 74 Cowper Road, Dublin 6.

Professor Robert Collis, Bo Island, Drumbawn, Newtownmountkennedy, Co. Wicklow.

Miss Mary F. Davidson, 105 Weir View Drive, Stillorgan, Co. Dublin.

Dr. Ellard Eppel, “Lakelands,” 113 Templeogue Road, Dublin 6.

Mr. Thomas Fallon, Saleen, Castlebar, Co. Mayo.

Mr. Desmond Hand, “Mountpleasant,” Church Road, Greystones, Co. Wicklow.

Mr. Raymond A. McLoughlin, 8 Carrickbrack Heath, Sutton, Co. Dublin.

Mrs. Eileen Maloney, “Glenaulin,” Cootehill Road, Cavan.

Mrs. Bridie O'Rourke, U.D.C., The Crescent, Dundalk, Co. Louth.

Dr. Reginald Spelman, 88 Trees Road, Mount Merrion, Co. Dublin.