Written Answers. - Free Travel Scheme.

Mary Wallace


558 Miss M. Wallace asked the Minister for Social Welfare the current status of his review of transport accessibility for people with mobility problems who hold free travel passes; the names of all operators receiving funds through the free travel pass scheme; and the amount these operators receive. [16905/96]

The consultation process on the upgrading of the accessibility of the transport facilities provided under the free travel scheme is not yet completed. However, it is likely that any recommendations arising therefrom would have significant cost implications. The Free Travel Scheme is expected to cost a total of £32.88 million this year of which the private operators will receive a sum of £1.25 million. A list of the names of these operators follows.

Transport Operators Participating in the Free Travel Scheme.

An Post Bus Service, GPO, Dublin (Service: Ennis-Lisdoonvarna, County Clare).

Avalen Limited, Main Street, Urlingford, County Kilkenny.

Barry Coaches Ltd., The Glen, County Cork.

*Bere Island Ferries Ltd., Ferry Lodge, Bere Island, County Cork.

Mr. Denis Buggy, Castlecomer, County Kilkenny.

**Chomhforbairt Gaillimh Teo., T/A Aer Arann, Aerfort Chonamara, Caislean, Indreaban, Cuntae na Gaillimhe.

*Clare Island Ferry and Clew Bay Cruises Ltd., Bayview Hotel, Clare Island, County Mayo.

*Cleggan & Inishbofin Ferries Ltd., Cleggan, County Galway.

*Coiste Naomh Ciaran, Cleire, An Sciobairin, Cuntae Chorcaí.

Coistí Chois Fharriage Teo., Shangurrane, Spiddal, County Galway.

**Comharchunamm Oileán Thoraí, Oileán Thoraí, Cuntae Dhun na nGall.

Coras Iompair Éireann, Heuston Station, Dublin 8.

Mr. Michael Corduff, T/A Corduff Travel, Rossport, Ballina, County Mayo.

Mr. Anthony Doherty, Main Street, Dungloe, County Donegal.

Mr. Sean Donnelly, T/A Donnelly Pioneer Bus Service, Granard, County Longford.

*Doolin Ferry Co. Ltd., Doolin Pier, Doolin, County Clare.

Mr. Joseph Cornelius Douglas, T/A CJ Douglas Transport, Trim, County Galway.

Mr. Patrick J. Doyle, T/A St. Kevin's Bus Service, Roundwood, County Wicklow.

Farragher International Travel Ltd., Glenaneena, Cummer, Tuam, County Galway.

Mr. Patrick Foley, Main Street, Tinnahinch, Graiguenamanagh, County Kilkenny.
Freaney Coaches Ltd., Annaghcross, Ballyglunin, Tuam, County Galway.
Mr. Patrick J. Gallagher, Stackernagh, Churchill, Letterkenny.
Halpenny Transport Ltd., Blackrock, Dundalk, County Louth.
Mr. Martin Hogan, T/A Shamrock Bus Service, Thurles, County Tipperary.
*Island Ferries Teo., Clynagh, Carraroe, County Galway.
Bernard Kavanagh & Sons Ltd., Bridge Garage, Urlingford.
JJ Kavanagh & Sons Ltd., Urlingford, County Kilkenny.
Matt Kavanagh & Sons Ltd., Bohercrowe, Limerick Road, Tipperary.
Kenneally's Bus Services Ltd., Blenheim, Waterford.
Londonderry & Lough Swilly Railway Company, Ballyraine Road, Letterkenny, County Donegal.
*Maoin na Farraige Teo., T/A Arranmore Ferry Service, Leabgarrow, Arranmore, County Donegal.
Mr. Joseph Marley, Cloghan, Ballybofey, County Donegal.
Mr. Peadar McGeehan, Fintown, County Donegal.
Mr. Anthony McGinley, Annagry Post Office, Annagry, County Donegal.
Mr. John McGinley, Maheroarty, Gortahork, Letterkenny, County Donegal.
Mr. Michael McGrath, Glenamoy, Ballina, County Mayo.
Mr. John McNulty, Chapel Street, Belmullet, County Mayo.
Midland Bus Co. Ltd., Loughansakin, Athlone, County Westmeath.
*Mr. Kieran Molloy, Pier Road, Schull, County Cork.
Mr. Michael Mullen, Frenchman's Beach, Kilrona, Aran Islands, County Galway.
*Mr. Patrick Murphy, Lawrence Cove, Bere Island, County Cork.
Mr. Michael Nee, Ballinafad, Connemara, County Galway.
Mr. John Nolan, T/A Nolan's Omnibus Service, Callan, County Kilkenny.
Northern Ireland Railways, Central Station, East Bridge Street, Belfast.
*O'Brien Shipping Ltd, New Docks, Galway City.
Mr. John O'Donoghue. T/A O'Donoghue's Garage, Castletownbere, County Cork.
*Mr. Ciaran O'Driscoll, T/A West Cork Coastal Cruisers, North Harbour, Cape Clear Island, County Cork.
*Mr. Vincent O'Driscoll, T/A Sherkin Island Ferry Service, 5 Sherkin Island, Skibbereen, County Cork.
*Mr. Patrick O'Halloran. St. Joseph's Fawnmore, Inishbofin, County Galway.
Mr. Eamonn O'Hara, Circular Road, Ballaghaderreen, County Roscommon.
Smarett Limited, T/A North Busways, Moville, County Donegal.
Suirway Bus & Coach Services Ltd., Knockroe, Passage East, Waterford.
Mr. Andrew Treacy, Killala Road, Ballina, County Mayo.
*Turasmara Teoranta, T/A Donegal Coastal Cruises, Strand Road, Middletown, Derrybeg, County Donegal.
Ulsterbus Ltd., Milewater Road, Belfast.
Valentia Community Health & Welfare Association, Valentia Island, County Kerry.
Wharton's Coach Tours Ltd., Crossdoney, County Cavan.
* Private ferry operator.
** Private airline operator.