Topical Issue Matters

I wish to advise the House of the following matters in respect of which notice has been given under Standing Order 27A and the name of the Member in each case: (1) Deputies Joe McHugh and Joanna Tuffy - the proposal by RTE to close its London bureau; (2) Deputy Éamon Ó Cuív - the provision of a new school building for Clifden community school, County Galway; (3) Deputy Robert Dowds - the need for a refund mechanism on returned glass and plastic containers as a way of tackling our litter problem; (4) Deputy Seán Crowe - the display of posters in social welfare offices; (5) Deputy Michael McCarthy - the need to introduce autism-specific legislation or a national autism strategy; (6) Deputy James Bannon - the need for the Minister for Health to review urgently the cut in funding to St. Christopher's Services, Longford; (7) Deputy Jerry Buttimer - the sale of NAMA controlled land at Douglas, Cork; (8) Deputies Brendan Smith, Ciara Conway and Aodhán Ó Ríordáin - the need to provide clear guidelines to schools on student admission policies; (9) Deputy Michael P. Kitt - the Gort to Tuam motorway, County Galway; (10) Deputy Thomas P. Broughan - the need to ensure the relevant financial institutions engage fully with the mortgage holders of Priory Hall, Dublin; (11) Deputy Michael Colreavy - the scrapping of the agri-environmental options scheme for 2012; (12) Deputy Mattie McGrath - the funding of the independent commercial radio sector; (13) Deputy Thomas Pringle - the need to support world fibromyalgia awareness day; (14) Deputy Derek Keating - the delay in processing social welfare payments and in hearing oral appeals; (15) Deputy Dara Calleary - the planned release from jails of 1,200 prisoners; (16) Deputy Eamonn Maloney - the promotion by the Embassy in Brussels of an event on avoiding Irish taxes; (17) Deputy Tom Hayes - the welfare rights of spouses of the self-employed; (18) Deputy Kevin Humphreys - the need to establish an advisory task force to examine and provide expertise on the problems in multi-unit developments; (19) Deputy Timmy Dooley - potential job losses at Shannon Airport due to the proposed transfer to Dublin of the Aer Lingus maintenance operation; (20) Deputy Mick Wallace - the report of the Central Bank of Ireland on property prices; (21) Deputy Richard Boyd Barrett - the postponement of the new school building at Newpark comprehensive school, Blackrock, Dublin until 2015; (22) Deputy Clare Daly - the assistance that will be provided to the residents of Priory Hall, Dublin; (23) Deputy Michael Conaghan - the rate of detection of burglaries as reflected in recent CSO figures; (24) Deputy Billy Kelleher - the plan to extend free GP care to long-term sick; (25) Deputy Michael McGrath - the need for an action plan in respect of people in the banking sector who have been and will be made redundant; and (26) Deputy Dessie Ellis - the need for added supports for people on fuel allowance in view of the recent unseasonably cold weather.

The matters raised by Deputy Derek Keating, Deputies Joe McHugh and Joanna Tuffy, Deputies Brendan Smith, Ciara Conway and Aodhán Ó Ríordáin, and Deputy Michael P. Kitt have been selected for discussion.