Topical Issue Matters

I wish to advise the House of the following matters in respect of which notice has been given under Standing Order 21 and the name of the Member in each case: (1) Deputy Tony McLoughlin - the views of the Minister for Justice and Equality on health and safety concerns with regard to the Sligo-Leitrim Garda divisional headquarters; (2) Deputy Catherine Connolly - a serious incident (details supplied) at a centre of excellence hospital; (3) Deputy Pearse Doherty - ní mór don Aire níos mó cuidiú airgid a chur ar fáil mar chuid den scéim na gcúntoirí teanga i bhfainaise na gciorraithe a bhí déanta le dornán beag blianta anuas agus na scoileanna breise atá ag glacadh páirt ann; (4) Deputy Bernard J. Durkan - to address the issue of delays with the development of the town centre in Naas; (5) Deputies Michael Fitzmaurice and Anne Rabbitte - the difficulties for grain and cereal farmers due to inclement weather; (6) Deputy Brendan Griffin - the ongoing situation in Aleppo; (7) Deputies David Cullinane and Mary Butler - to ask the Minister for Health his views on the independent clinical review of cardiac services at University Hospital Waterford; (8) Deputy Alan Farrell - the need for the Minister for Children and Youth Affairs to examine child care costs to support families; (9) Deputy Éamon Ó Cuív - an phráinn atá ann go gcuirfear síneadh leis an gconradh den aer-sheirbhís go dtí na hOileáin Árann, Contae na Gaillimhe, go dtí go mbeidh conrathóir nua in áit faoin gcóras tairiscintí poiblí atá ar bun faoi láthair ó tharla go dtiocfaidh deireadh leis an gconradh reatha ar 1 Deireadh Fómhair 2016; (10) Deputy Martin Heydon - the need for a GP training programme in County Kildare; (11) Deputy Seán Haughey - the provision of a new emergency department in Beaumont Hospital, Dublin 9, as outlined in An Agreed Programme for a Partnership Government; (12) Deputies Thomas Broughan, Róisín Shortall, Joan Collins and Billy Kelleher - the need to ensure monetary recognition for the 36-week nursing and midwifery internship from 2011 onwards; (13) Deputy Brian Stanley - the need to retain services at Midland Regional Hospital, Portlaoise; (14) Deputy Danny Healy-Rae - the urgent need to carry out an assessment of Listry Bridge on the R563 with a view to providing funding either to widen it or build a new bridge; (15) Deputies Clare Daly and Mick Wallace - to discuss the refugee resettlement programme in Ireland; (16) Deputy Sean Fleming - the position on the use of staffless libraries as part of the Open Library initiative; (18) Deputy Robert Troy - the need to discuss progress on Coosnan National School, Athlone; (19) Deputies Martin Ferris and John Brassil - to clarify the position regarding St. Mary of the Angels, Beaufort, County Kerry; (20) Deputies Ruth Coppinger and Joan Burton - the position in relation to building work at St. Mochta's national school, Clonsilla; (21) Deputy Mick Barry - the emerging dispute between workers and management at Bus Éireann; (22) Deputies Brendan Smith and Declan Breathnach - the need to clarify the level of funding and when it will be provided for PEACE IV and INTERREG commitments, and to clarify that the programmes will be implemented in full, as already agreed between the Irish and British Governments and the EU Commission; (23) Deputy Richard Boyd Barrett - the issue of funding for home help; and (24) Deputy Maurice Quinlivan - the Minister's views on the delay with opening the new accident and emergency department at University Hospital Limerick, Dooradoyle.

The matters raised by Deputies Sean Fleming, Michael Fitzmaurice and Anne Rabbitte, David Cullinane and Mary Butler, and Tony McLaughlin have been selected for discussion.