Topical Issue Matters

The following matters in respect of which notice has been given under Standing Order 29A were received by the Ceann Comhairle, and this is a list of the name of the Member in each case: (1) Deputy Thomas P. Broughan - supports needed for St. Joseph's national school, Marino, Dublin 3, on its application for DEIS 1 status; (2) Deputy James Lawless - the reason volumes of waste from the greater Dublin area are currently being deposited in Drehid landfill site, north-west Kildare and related issues; (3) Deputy Carol Nolan - the ongoing increases in motor insurance premiums; (4) Deputy Sean Fleming - the reduction in services at an Alzheimer's day care unit in Monasterevin, County Kildare; (5) Deputy Eugene Murphy - the deportation of an individual whose marriage has been confirmed by the HSE; (6) Deputy Josepha Madigan - the closure of Notre Dame school in Churchtown; (7) Deputy John Lahart - Airbnb properties and planning permission; (8) Deputy Niamh Smyth - the need to address the issue of substance abuse following a recent case at Cavan general hospital accident and emergency department; (9) Deputy Catherine Murphy - the disparity between sterling and euro in retail prices; (10) Deputy Jonathan O'Brien - industrial action by members of An Garda Síochana; (11) Deputies Aengus Ó Snodaigh, Bríd Smith, Joan Collins - school management concerns over staffing at the Assumption girls school in Walkinstown; (12) Deputy Clare Daly - the terms of reference of the O'Neill investigation and the undermining allegations; (13) Deputy Pat Buckley - to discuss allegations of historical abuse at Clonmel Mental Hospital; (14) Deputy Mick Wallace - the terms of reference of the NAMA commission of inquiry; (15) Deputy Jackie Cahill - competition concerns in the beef industry; (16) Deputy Catherine Connolly - the withdrawal of a bus service in Galway; (17) Deputies Richard Boyd Barrett and Gino Kenny - the demolition of the refugee camps in Calais; (18) Deputy Maureen O'Sullivan - the impact of puppy farms and the need for stricter enforcement; (19) Deputy Anne Rabbitte - the staffing of maternity services in University Hospital Galway; (20) Deputy Frank O'Rourke - the resourcing of the adult degenerative spine service in Tallaght Hospital and the Dublin/Midlands Hospital Group; (21) Deputies Thomas Byrne and Mick Barry - measures being taken to prevent school closures during the upcoming strike by ASTI members; (22) Deputy Barry Cowen - the withdrawal and relocation of ambulance services from Edenderry to Tullamore; (23) Deputy Margaret Murphy O'Mahony - the closure of the only waiting list for free eye tests for children; (24) Deputy Mattie McGrath - the time period allotted for slurry spraying on agricultural land; (25) Deputy Fiona O'Loughlin - the reduction of services in the Alzheimer's day care unit servicing south Kildare; (26) Deputy Martin Heydon - the need for improved youth services in County Kildare including a dedicated youth officer.

The matters raised by Deputies John Lahart, Josepha Madigan, Jonathan O'Brien and Frank O'Rourke have been selected for discussion.