Topical Issue Matters

I wish to advise the House of the following matters in respect of which notice has been given under Standing Order 29A and the name of the Member in each case: (1) Deputy Fiona O'Loughlin - the status of the day care centre in Monasterevin, County Kildare; (2) Deputy Willie O'Dea - to discuss the defined benefit pensions scheme in CIÉ; (3) Deputy Niamh Smyth - sexual harassment allegations at the Gate Theatre; (4) Deputy Thomas Byrne - Garda resources in Stamullen and Gormanston, County Meath; (5) Deputy Joan Burton - the allegations in the Paradise Papers and the involvement of Irish banks in international tax evasion; (6) Deputy Michael McGrath - the proposed closure of the Passage West health centre in County Cork; (7) Deputy John McGuinness - the risk to jobs at Morrisseys concrete company in Carlow; (8) Deputy Frank O'Rourke - the funding and delivery of home care packages nationwide; (9) Deputy Eamon Ryan - the steps being taken to secure the proposed data centre in Athenry, County Galway; (10) Deputy Clare Daly - the need to reform the pyrite remediation scheme; (11) Deputy Robert Troy - the ongoing industrial dispute at Irish Rail; (12) Deputy Mattie McGrath - the need to address the shortage of substitute teachers; (13) Deputy Eamon Scanlon - the provision of radiotherapy services in Sligo; (14) Deputy Martin Ferris - special needs students transferring to the adult school service; (15) Deputy Pat Buckley - the increase in the Cork County Council housing waiting list figures; (16) Deputy Ruth Coppinger - the recent opinion poll on the eighth amendment; (17) Deputy John Brassil - shortcomings in the school leavers process for special needs children in Listowel; (18) Deputy Sean Fleming - the need to discuss issues at Portlaoise hospital; (19) Deputy Joan Collins - the need to address compensation and subvention payments in Irish Rail; and (20) Deputy Mick Wallace - data protection issues associated with the public services card.

The matters raised by Deputies Fiona O'Loughlin, Michael McGrath, Eamon Ryan and Pat Buckley have been selected for discussion.

Sitting suspended at 4.05 p.m. and resumed at 4.10 p.m.