Skip to main content
Normal View

School Transport.

Dáil Éireann Debate, Tuesday - 13 February 2007

Tuesday, 13 February 2007

Questions (486)

Enda Kenny


557 Mr. Kenny asked the Minister for Education and Science the members of the school transport appeals board; the chairman of the board; the role and function of the members of the appeals board; the number of decisions made by the board in the past 12 months where appeals were granted; and if she will make a statement on the matter. [5125/07]

View answer

Written answers (Question to Minister for Education and Science)

The members of the School Transport Appeals Board are Paul Keely, Chairman, Seán MacNamara, Emmet Cotter, Tom D'Arcy and John Falvey. The role of the Appeals Board is, broadly, to examine appeals against decisions made by, or on behalf of, the Department of Education and Science regarding the provision of school transport services and/or grant-aid under the terms of the School Transport Schemes. In the 12 months to December 2006 the Board disallowed 32 of the 37 appeals heard.