Tuesday, 5 March 2013

Questions (172)

Michael Healy-Rae


172. Deputy Michael Healy-Rae asked the Minister for Finance the number of appointments he has made from March 2011 to January 2013 to State boards; in the case of each appointment, the number of appointments that were made to members of the general public who submitted a curriculum vitae for the appointment; the number of direct appointments he made; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [11475/13]

View answer

Written answers (Question to Finance)

In response to the Deputy’s question the following appointments were made in respect of bodies under the aegis of my Department since March 2011.

Fiscal Advisory Council

The following people were appointed to the Fiscal Advisory Council on 7th July 2011:

Mr Sebastian Barnes

Professor Alan Barrett

Dr Donal Donovan

Professor John McHale, Chair

Dr Roisin O’Sullivan

As Minister for Finance I announced the establishment of the Irish Fiscal Advisory Council on a non-statutory basis on 7 July 2011. When establishing the Council, I stated that the Council would be an independent body whose existence and independence would be underpinned by legislation to be brought forward by Government in the Fiscal Responsibility Bill. The Chairman did not undergo interview by Oireachtas Committee but the Fiscal Council appeared before the Joint Oireachtas Committee on Finance, Public Expenditure and Reform on a number of occasions to discuss their fiscal assessment reports.

I appointed the members having regard to a number of criteria including the desirability of having a mix of appropriate backgrounds (academia, the financial sector/financial markets and public finance), macroeconomic/microeconomic expertise and a strong international dimension, as well as the need to take gender considerations into account. I am satisfied that the appointed members have the mix of skills and experience, including in relation to fiscal affairs, to ensure that the Council will be highly effective in fulfilling its mandate. The Fiscal Responsibility Act 2012 was brought into legislative effect on 27th November 2012. The Council commenced on a Statutory basis from the 31st December 2012. The membership remain the same as above.

National Asset Management Agency

Mr John Mulcahy was appointed to the Board of the National Asset Management Agency. He was not appointed under the new procedures for board appointments. His appointment was a National Asset Management Agency Executive Appointment. Mr Mulcahy is head of Asset Management within the National Asset Management Agency. He was appointed on basis of his curriculum vitae.

Credit Union Restructuring Board (ReBo)

The Credit Union Restructuring Board (ReBo) comprises thirteen members in total, including six independent members. To identify suitable independent members the Department publicly advertised for expressions of interest on the Department of Finance and the Public Appointments Service websites. Nominations were also invited from credit union representative bodies, the Central Bank of Ireland and the Department of Finance. The Minister also appointed Mr Joe O’Toole to ReBo for continuity purposes as Mr O’Toole was a member of the Commission on Credit Unions. Appointments made from those who submitted a curriculum vitae:

Mr Bobby McVeigh – Chairman

Mr Brendan Burke

Mr Tom Kavanagh

Mr Eoin McGettigan

Mr Stephen O’Donovan

Ms Kathleen Prendergast

Nominated members appointed to ReBo.

Mr Pat Fay - Irish League of Credit Unions (ILCU)

Mr Jimmy Johnstone - Irish League of Credit Unions (ILCU)

Mr Kevin Johnson - Credit Union Development Association (CUDA)

Mr Tim Molan - Credit Union Managers Association (CUMA)

Mr Neil Ryan - Assistant Secretary, Financial Services Division, Department of Finance

Ms Elaine Byrne - Deputy Head, Registrar of Credit Unions

National Treasury Management Agency Advisory Committee

Mr John Moran Secretary General of the Department of Finance appointed March 2012

It has been the norm to appoint the Secretary General of the Department of Finance to the Advisory Committee since the establishment of the National Treasury Management Agency

Board of the National Development Finance Agency

The Following were appointed to the Board of the National Development Finance Agency in July 2012.

Mr Robert Watt Secretary General of the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform

Ms Petrina Smyth appointed on basis of curriculum vitae.

Mr Gerry Murray appointed on basis of curriculum vitae.

Mr Brian Murphy Chief Executive Officer National Development Officer re-appointed in December 2012.

State Claims Agency Policy Committee

The following appointments were made to the State Claims Agency Policy Committee in July 2012.

Dr Noel Whelan re-appointed

Mr Charlie Hardy appointed (Departmental Nominee)

Mr Fachtna Murphy appointed on basis of curriculum vitae.

Ms Wendy Thompson appointed on the basis of curriculum vitae.

National Pensions Reserve Commission

Mr Maurice Keane was re-appointed to the National Pensions Reserve Commission in July 2012.