Tuesday, 25 June 2013

Questions (289)

Richard Boyd Barrett


289. Deputy Richard Boyd Barrett asked the Minister for Education and Skills if he will list the public secondary schools, either boys or co-ed, in the greater Dún Laoghaire area of Dublin; and if these schools adequately provide for the boys in this area. [30620/13]

View answer

Written answers (Question to Education)

I wish to advise the Deputy that the public second level boys' and co-educational schools in the Dún Laoghaire/Rathdown area are as follows:

Coláiste Eóin, Stillorgan

Oatland's College, Mount Merrion

Clonkeen College, Blackrock

St. Benildus College, Stillorgan

St. Laurence's College, Loughlinstown

De la Salle College, Churchtown

Newpark Comprehensive School, Blackrock

Ballinteer Community School

Cabinteely Community School

Holy Child Community School, Sallynoggin

St. Tiernan's Community School, Balally

The Forward Planning Section of my Department continuously analyses demographic trends to determine where additional school provision will be required into the future. My Department considers that there is sufficient capacity to cater for pupil numbers in the greater Dún Laoghaire area. As the Deputy is aware, my priority is to ensure that there is sufficient school accommodation nationally to meet projected pupil enrolment increases over the coming years. The 5 year Capital Investment Programme outlines the major school projects that will commence construction over the duration of the Programme. These have been prioritised on the basis of meeting significant demographic needs. In addition, my Department will consider applications by schools for funding for additional classrooms, which schools may provide on a permanent basis, where an immediate enrolment need is arising. Should any additional needs arise in the area referred to by the Deputy, they will be identified and met under this process.