Wednesday, 27 November 2013

Questions (111)

Dara Calleary


111. Deputy Dara Calleary asked the Minister for Social Protection the current operational structure of her Department outlining the management structure but excluding naming of personnel; the responsibilities of each section; the number of persons working in each section; her plans for reforming this structure; and if she will make a statement on the matter. [50919/13]

View answer

Written answers (Question to Social)

The Department’s Management Board consists of the Secretary General, the Deputy Secretary, ten Assistant Secretaries, the Chief Appeals Officer and the Chief Medical Adviser. An organisational chart to Principal level is attached showing total staff reporting to each Assistant Secretary. There are some 6500 people in the Department. The Department has undergone considerable transformation in recent years with the integration of the employment and community services of FÁS and the community welfare service from the HSE. The transformation and reorganisation of the Department is now well advanced but will take some years to complete. If the Deputy would like additional details or to discuss further the Secretary General is happy to meet the Deputy.

Structure of Department of Social Protection at November 2013

Niamh O’Donoghue

Secretary General

Anne Vaughan

Deputy Secretary General

Internal Audit *

Seamus Quinn

Chief Appeals Officer

Geraldine Gleeson

Chief Medical Advisor

Dr Clement Leech

Assistant Secretary

John Conlon

Assistant Secretary

Orlaigh Quinn

Assistant Secretary

Tim Duggan

Assistant Secretary

Niall Barry

Deputy CAO

Cathy Barron

Deputy CMA

Dr Devesh Singh


Sean Reilly

HR Policy & Service

Celine Moore

Lucy Fallon-Byrne

Ciaran Lawler

Payments Strategy

Siobhan Lawlor

Enterprise Architect

Sean Fay

Budget/IMF Reporting

Denis Moynihan

Pensions/Household Benefits Policy

Patricia Murphy

Client Identity Services

Richard Shine

Software Engineer

John Bohan

Legislation/Planning Secretariat

Helen McDonald

Contributory Pensions/ CIB/ MABS/Information

Anne Marie Cassidy


Kevin Coady

Facilities Management

Eoghan Ryan

Non Contributory Pensions/ Household Benefits

Miriam Finnegan

Service Delivery

Victor Galvin

Corporate Services


EU International

Mary O’Sullivan

DRIM/Public Service Reform/ICT Project Planning

Daragh O’Connor

*Internal Audit reports directly to Secretary General.

Structure of Department of Social Protection at November 2013

Niamh O’Donoghue

Secretary General

Anne Vaughan

Deputy Secretary General

Assistant Secretary

Kathleen Stack

Assistant Secretary

Helen Faughnan

Assistant Secretary

Oliver Egan

Assistant Secretary

John McKeon

Assistant Secretary

Simonetta Ryan

Assistant Secretary

Teresa Leonard


Deirdre Shanley

Operational Policy/ Regional Support Unit

Bernard Tonge

Marie O’Neill

Barry Kennedy

Work/CE Schemes/ Employment Support

TJ Fleming

Mary Donnelly

Activation & Employment Policy

Terry Corcoran

Working Age Policy/ General Register Policy

Padraig O’Conaill

Benefits/ Medical Review & Assessment

Alan Flynn

Special Investigation Unit

Philip Cox

Decisions Advisory Office/ Freedom of Information

Anne Mc Manus

Dublin North Division

Paul Carroll

Transformation/IR/Intreo Pilot Offices

Anne Tynan

Jobseekers/OPFP Reform


Niall Egan

Disability Allowance/ Carers Allowance/ Family Income Supplement

Catherine Kellaghan

North West Division

Kieran O’Dwyer

South West Division

Neil Kelly

Dublin South Division

Fiona Ward

Employer Relations

Joan Gordon

PRSI/Scope/ Redundancy &Insolvency

Mary Kennedy

Disability/Carers Policy

Liam Walsh

North East Division

Joe Mc Guinness

Cork Central Division

Maria Hurley

Dublin Central Division

David Dillon

External Service Delivery

Brendan Friel

General Register Office

Kieran Feely

Child Benefit/Domiciliary Care Allowance/Client Eligibility Service/ Maternity Benefit

Tony Kieran

Western Division

Eoin Brown

South East Division

Liam Daly

Mid-Leinster Division

Donal Spellman

Business Intelligence

Paul Morrin

Social Inclusion & Child Income Policy

Jim Walsh

Midlands North Division

Des Henry

Midlands South Division

Veronica O’Brien

Regional Process Modernisation

Philip O’Donohoe

Mid-West Division

Jim Lynch

Supplementary Welfare Allowance

Jackie Harrington