Wednesday, 27 November 2013

Questions (93)

Dara Calleary


93. Deputy Dara Calleary asked the Minister for Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation the current operational structure of his Department outlining the management structure but excluding naming of personnel; the responsibilities of each section; the number of persons working in each section; his plans for reforming this structure; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [50917/13]

View answer

Written answers (Question to Jobs)

The Organisation Chart circulated with this Reply identifies the operational and management structure of my Department together with the areas of responsibility and the number of staff (in full-time equivalent posts) within each Division of my Department.

The current structure of the Department was put in place after the formation of the Government in 2011. A revised structure will be implemented in 2014 consequent on the integration of Forfás into the Department once the legislation providing for same is enacted.




Secretary General



Assistant Secretary

Assistant Secretary

Assistant Secretary

Assistant Secretary

Assistant Secretary

Corporate Services , EU Affairs & Trade Policy

Staff: 222.18*

Competitiveness & Jobs

Staff: 37.58

Labour Affairs

Staff: 290.67**

Innovation & Investment

Staff: 83.63***

Commerce, Consumers & Competition

Staff: 168.61

Personnel/Learning & Dev/Org Units

Competitiveness & Climate Change

Internal Audit

Cross Governmental Science, Technology & Innovation Policy

Competition & Consumer Policy

Management Support/ Business Services Unit

Enterprise Development Unit/

Micro Enterprise Policy

Labour Market/ Chemicals Policy

Health & Safety Liaison

Science Foundation Ireland, EU and International STI & PRTLI

Company Law Policy & Administration and Business Regulation Unit

ICT Unit

SME Policy and State Aid Unit

Employment Rights Policy

Inward Investment & North/South Unit

Company Law Development & Modernisation

Finance Unit

Industrial Relations

Workplace Relations Liaison

Intellectual Property Unit

Cooperative Law & PIAB Liaison

EU Affairs

Internal Market

Employment Permits

Patents Office

Companies Bill Unit

Trade Policy Unit

Licensing Unit

Bilateral Trade

Workplace Relations Reform Project

Companies Registration Office (CRO)





Office of the Director of Corporate Enforcement

*Includes 3 staff assigned to the Irish Mission in Geneva

**Includes staff assigned to the National Employment Rights Authority, Labour Court and Labour Relations Commission, Employment Appeals Tribunal and the Equality Tribunal, which are separate to the above organisational structure, but operate under the aegis of the Department.

***Includes staff assigned to the Patents Office.