Tuesday, 27 May 2014

Questions (977)

Alan Farrell


977. Deputy Alan Farrell asked the Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport the criteria for the appointment of members to the board of a given transport co-ordination unit; the measures he has taken to ensure fair and transparent representation on each board; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [22613/14]

View answer

Written answers (Question to Transport)

Following a Government Decision in January 2012, responsibility for the integration of local and rural transport services, including management of the Rural Transport Programme (RTP), was assigned to the National Transport Authority (NTA) with effect from 1st April 2012. This includes responsibility for implementing the restructuring of the RTP announced by me on 9th July 2013.  

The new RTP structure involves the establishment of 18 Transport Co-ordination Units (TCUs) in place of the existing 35 RTP Groups currently delivering the service. The TCUs are private companies and the appointment of Board members is a matter for the companies themselves. I have no function in the matter.  

In the context of the process to establish the new TCUs I have forwarded your question to the NTA for direct reply. Please advise my private office if you do not receive a response within 10 working days.