Tuesday, 10 June 2014

Questions (488)

Terence Flanagan


488. Deputy Terence Flanagan asked the Minister for Health the members and expertise of the National Paediatric Hospital Development Board; the details regarding the appointment of a design team; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [24262/14]

View answer

Written answers (Question to Health)

The new children's hospital is a commitment in the Programme for Government and is a priority for me as Minister and for this Government. The National Paediatric Hospital Development Board is responsible for this priority capital project, and is focused on delivering the new hospital on schedule, to optimal design and value for money. On 2 August last, I announced the appointment to the Development Board of a Chair and Board members with the necessary construction, architectural, engineering, planning and procurement expertise to deliver this complex and large-scale project.

The members of the Board are: Mr. Tom Costello (Chairperson); Mr. Tim Bouchier Hayes; Ms. Anne Butler; Mr John Cole CBE; Mr Brian Fitzgerald; Professor Ian Hann; Professor Hilary Hoey; Mr. Karl Kent; Mr John Martin; Mr. Paul Quinn; Dr Tony O'Connell; Ms Marguerite Sayers. Further details about Board members are at www.newchildrenshospital.ie. I am confident that the Board, working with the HSE, with my Department and with the Children's Hospital Group Board, will ensure the successful completion of the hospital, co-located with St James's on its campus.

The Board is currently in the final stage of design team procurement with the aim being to appoint the full design team shortly and to submit a planning application in February 2015 following design development.