Friday, 6 September 2019

Questions (1620)

Éamon Ó Cuív


1620. Deputy Éamon Ó Cuív asked the Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport the provinces in Canada that have reciprocal arrangements with Ireland in relation to driver licences; the reason the other provinces do not have similar arrangements with Ireland; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [36345/19]

View answer

Written answers (Question to Transport)

Ireland has driver licence exchange agreements in place with the following provinces in Canada: Ontario, Manitoba, Newfoundland & Labrador, British Columbia & Saskatchewan.

Canadian licences are issued by the government of the province or territory in which the driver is residing. Thus, specific regulations relating to driver's licences vary province to province, though overall they are quite similar. Licence exchange agreements can be made only when the relevant authorities in each jurisdiction have studied and compared the two licensing regimes, so that each side can be satisfied that they are compatible. On the Irish side, this task is undertaken by the Road Safety Authority (RSA).

We are currently finalising an exchange agreement with Alberta. This will bring to 5 the number of agreements in place with Canada. Work will continue to bring in agreements with the remaining provinces.