Skip to main content
Normal View

National Transport Authority

Dáil Éireann Debate, Thursday - 3 December 2020

Thursday, 3 December 2020

Questions (173)

Martin Browne


173. Deputy Martin Browne asked the Minister for Transport the reason there is no rail representative on the National Transport Authority; his plans to address this shortcoming; his views on the disadvantage this poses for the development of rail and timetables; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [40854/20]

View answer

Written answers (Question to Transport)

Section 14(1) of the Dublin Transport Authority Act 2008, as amended by Sections 29 and 30 of the Public Transport Regulation Act 2009, provides that the National Transport Authority (NTA) shall consist of a Chairperson and 11 ordinary members, who perform and carry out the functions of the NTA in accordance with the Acts, and that appointments to the Authority are made by the Minister for Transport.

The legislation specifies that (other than for the three ex officio appointments required by the legislation), appointments are made from persons who, in the opinion of the Minister, have wide experience in relation to transport, industrial, commercial, financial, land use planning or environmental matters, the organisation of workers or administration.

The NTA has responsibility for the development of an integrated, accessible public transport network and the provision of public transport infrastructure. As Minister, I will continue to have regard to the need for an appropriate mix of experience across relevant areas, including rail, when filling future vacancies on the Authority.