Written Answers. - Appointments to State Boards.

Bernard J. Durkan


163 Mr. Durkan asked the Taoiseach the names and number of appointees made by him in the past 12 months to State agencies, bodies or boards. [19148/00]

Appointments to agencies, bodies and boards under the aegis of my Department are made by Government with the exception of the National Statistics Board where appointments are made by the Minister of State, Deputy Séamus Brennan.

1. Campus and Stadium Ireland

The Campus and Stadium Ireland Development Board, CSID, was appointed by the Government on 22 February 2000. The membership of the board is as follows: Paddy Teahon, Chair, William Attley, Mary Davis, Sean Donnelly, Lucy Gaffney, Tom Kiernan, Liam Ó Maolmhichil, John Mulcahy, John Power, John Treacy and Michael Walsh.

2. Law Reform Commission

On 22 February 2000, Mr. Justice Declan Budd was appointed President of the LRC.

3. National Statistics Board

The following appointments were made to the National Statistics Board in early 2000: Cathal O'Loghlin, Department of Finance; Paula Carey, ICTU; Ciaran Dolan, ICMSA; Frank Cunneen, IBEC; Dermot McCarthy, Department of the Taoiseach; Professor Frances Ruane, Trinity College, Chairperson; Donal Murphy, CSO.

4. National Economic & Social Council [NESC]

The following appointments have been made to the National Economic & Social Council within the past 12 months: Michael Berkery, IFA; Con Lucey, IFA; Maria Moynihan, Macra na Feirme; Ciaran Dolan, ICMSA; Orla O'Connor, National Womens' Council of Ireland; Siobhan O'Donoghue, Community Platform; and Manus O'Riordan, SIPTU.

5. MediaLab Europe

Three nominations were made in April 2000 to the interim board of MediaLab Europe: Denis O'Brien; Danny O'Hare; and Paddy Teahon, Chairman, Digital Media District Limited.

Three nominations have also been made to the full board which will take up office in early October 2000: Denis O'Brien, Danny O'Hare and Ann Riordan, replacing Paddy Teahon.

Three nominations to the full board have also been made jointly by the Government and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, MIT: Red Burns, Multi-media Centre, New York University; Gerhard Schulmeyer, chief executive officer Siemens; and Bono, U2.

6. Digital Media District Ltd.

Eight appointments were made to the interim board of DMD Ltd.: Paddy Teahon, Chairman; Dan Flinter, Enterprise Ireland; Don Thornhill, Higher Education Authority, John Fitzgerald, Dublin City Manager, Paul Kavanagh, Infor mation Society Commission, Paul McGuinness, Principle Management, U2; Peter Cassells, ICTU; and Jackie Harrison, IBEC.