Topical Issue Matters

I wish to advise the House of the following matters in respect of which notice has been given under Standing Order 27A and the name of the Member in each case: (1) Deputy Derek Keating - the need for a review of measures to combat the availability of illegal drugs; (2) Deputy Michelle Mulherin - special treatment services for cancer patients in County Mayo; (3) Deputy John O'Mahony - the need to locate a passport office in the west; (4) Deputy Joan Collins - the decision by the National Centre for Pharmacoeconomics, NCPE, not to make pirfenidone available to patients with idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis; (5) Deputy Noel Harrington - the need to extend, in respect of primary schools on offshore islands, the qualifying date for minimum enrolment of eight pupils from 30 September 2012 to 30 April 2013; (6) Deputy Pádraig Mac Lochlainn - the proposed closure of Gaelcholáiste Chineál Eoghain, Buncrana, County Donegal; (7) Deputy Luke 'Ming' Flanagan - the impact of carbon tax on certain turf cutters, in particular on those who cut turf for domestic supply only; (8) Deputy Eamonn Maloney - the 2012 Revenue report; (9) Deputy Heather Humphreys - the importance of the Ulster Canal project to the Cavan-Monaghan region and the need to give continued commitment to the project; (10) Deputy Michael McNamara - regulation of small food businesses - a barrier to growth and employment; (11) Deputy Gerald Nash - the planned temporary centralisation of the National Ambulance Service control centre; (12) Deputy Maureen O'Sullivan - the Dublin City Council report that 90% of private apartments inspected in the Dublin area are not fit for habitation; (13) Deputy Ciarán Lynch - the need to reconsider the policy of single country adoption; (14) Deputy Tom Hayes - the provision of high speed broadband to south Tipperary; (15) Deputy Thomas Pringle - the need to have Down's syndrome added to the "low incidence list" to ensure access to education supports for children with Down's syndrome; (16) Deputy Barry Cowen - the delay in the construction of new accommodation for Scoil Bhríde, Edenderry and Gaelscoil Éadan Doire, County Offaly; (17) Deputy Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin - the decision to introduce further charges in the calculation criteria for eligibility for a medical card; (18) Deputy Mick Wallace - the need for Screen national school, Enniscorthy, County Wexford, to retain its current staffing levels; (19) Deputy Niall Collins - the comments of the president of the Garda Representative Association about the reliability of Garda crime statistics; (20) Deputy Mattie McGrath - the withdrawal of non-Irish finance houses from the market here; (21) Deputy Dessie Ellis - the need to provide young people in emergency accommodation with sufficient financial support to aid them in finding a home and moving on with education or employment; (22) Deputy Timmy Dooley - the dissolution of Shannon Development and related matters; (23) Deputy Martin Ferris - the implications for the proposed Common Agricultural Policy reform of the delay in agreeing the European Union's multi-annual financial framework; (24) Deputy Jonathan O'Brien - the erosion of teachers' employment rights through the casualisation of work practices across the second level education sector; and (25) Deputy Stephen S. Donnelly - the need to legislate to decriminalise, in limited cases, assisted suicide.

The matters raised by Deputies Noel Harrington, Barry Cowen, Derek Keating and Ciarán Lynch have been selected for discussion.