Wednesday, 25 February 2004

Questions (155)

Joan Burton


242 Ms Burton asked the Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government the appointments made by him to all companies, boards or agencies operating under the aegis of his Department since 6 June 2002; the persons appointed; and the dates on which the appointments were made. [6279/04]

View answer

Written answers (Question to Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government)

A number of different processes are involved in appointments made to bodies under the aegis of my Department. In some cases statutory selection procedures must be followed or nominations must be sought from independent nominating panels before appointments are made by the Government or by the Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government. In other cases only particular public office holders may be appointed to certain boards. In a number of situations, only some appointments to the body concerned are made by the Minister.

Subject to the above, the details sought in the question are listed in the following table.

Name of Body

Name of Person Appointed since6 June 2002

Date Appointment made

An Chomhairle Leabharlanna

Mr. Seán Ryan

20 May 2003

Cllr. Denis Bourke

Cllr. Cora Long

Cllr. Luie McEntire

Cllr. Michael Abbey

Cllr. Laurence O’Neill

Ms Deirdre Ellis-King

Ms Ruth Flanagan

Mr. Robert Adams

Mr. Donall O’Luanaigh

Mr. John Fitzgerald

Ms Beatrice Doran

Mr. Richard Lennon

Building Regulations Advisory Body

Mr. Gerard Grogan

19 February 2003

Dublin Docklands Development Authority Council

Mr. Liam Whelan

2 June 2003

Ms Emer Costello

10 September 2003

Environmental Protection Agency

Mr. Larry Stapleton*

17 June 2003

Mr. Gerry Carty*

Fire Services Council

Mr. Donal Connolly

11 February 2003

Mr. Tony Gleeson

Cllr. Mary Bohan

Mr. Stephen Brady

Mr. Jim Byrne

Ms Anne Costello

Mr. Frank Dennison

Mr. John L’Estrange

Ms Attracta McKay

Cllr. Enda Nolan

Mr. Teddy O’Connor

Ms Theresa White

Housing Finance Agency

Ms Maria Graham

5 February 2003

Local Government Computer Services Board

Mr. John Fitzgerald

11 October 2003

Mr. Fred Bradley

Local Government Management Services Board

Mr. Kevin Cullen

18 July 2003

Mr. Aidan Kinch

Mr. Jim Lillis

National Building Agency

Cllr. Pat Leahy

7 November 2002

Mr. Des Dowling

5 February 2003

Rent Tribunal

Ms Moya Quinlan

31 July 2003

Ms Mary Doyle

Ms Louise Moloney

Mr. Joe McPeake

Mr. Kieran Buckley

Ms Morette Kinsella

Mr. John Leddin

Mr. William Stanbridge

Mr. Fred Devlin

Irish Water Safety Association

Mr. Frank Nolan (Chair)

4 February 2003

Ms Kathryn Byrne

Ms Breda Collins

Mr. Michael Cuddihy

Mr. Brian Farrell

Ms Patricia Hutchinson

Mr. Jim Lawlor

Mr. Brendan McGrath

Ms Martina Maloney

Mr. Michael Murphy

Mr. Martin O’Sullivan

Mr. Martin Condon

24 September 2003


Ms Christine Croton

12 November 2003

Private Residential Tenancies Board

Mr. Bernard McDonagh

4 November 2002

Heritage Council

Ms Mary Moylan

14 November 2002

Ms Deirdre Ellis-King

12 March 2003

Mr. Éamonn McEneaney

12 March 2003

Radiological Protection Institute of Ireland

Prof. Kieran R. Byrne

24 February 2003

Nature Conservation Designation Appeals Advisory Board

Mr. Sean Duignan

1 May 2003

*Appointments made by the Government on foot of nomination by a statutory selection committee.