Skip to main content
Normal View

Judicial Appointments

Dáil Éireann Debate, Tuesday - 26 March 2019

Tuesday, 26 March 2019

Questions (524)

Patrick O'Donovan


524. Deputy Patrick O'Donovan asked the Minister for Justice and Equality if he will provide information regarding the Court of Appeal (details supplied); and if he will make a statement on the matter. [13387/19]

View answer

Written answers (Question to Justice)

As the Deputy will be aware, the Court of Appeal was established on 28 October 2014 and is composed of a President and nine ordinary judges, with the Chief Justice and the President of the High Court ex officio judges of the Court.

The President of the Court of Appeal and the first eight ordinary judges of the Court were appointed by the President on 29 October 2014. The ninth ordinary judge of the Court was appointed on 4 December 2014.

Since 2014 there have been a number of retirements and elevations in the Court of Appeal with eight new ordinary judges appointed on the following dates: 13 September 2016, 19 June 2017, 19 December 2017, 28 June 2018 (two appointments), 27 July 2018 and 13 November 2018 (two appointments). The current President of the Court of Appeal was appointed on 28 May 2018.

The Deputy will be aware that the Government has approved bringing forward legislation to increase the number of ordinary judges in the Court of Appeal from nine to fifteen. This legislation is currently being progressed by my Department.