Get the latest information about the 2020 Seanad general election here.

The most recent count results for the five vocational panels will be published here immediately after the announcement of the result of each count.

For information about the election of the two university panels, visit the National University of Ireland website and the University of Dublin website.

Important dates

Last updated - 21 Feb 2020, 15.15

  •  Deadline for proposals for nominations to the vocational panels by Members of the Oireachtas

  •  The Seanad Returning Officer completes the panels of candidates

  •  Ballot papers for the election of the vocational panels issued

  •  Polling for the vocational panels closes

     The count begins shortly after polling closes.

Notice of nominations received to date

Notice of nominations received to date

Find out who has been proposed for nomination to the vocational panels so far.

The deadline for nominating bodies to propose nominations to the vocational panels has passed.

The deadline for Oireachtas Members to propose nominations to the vocational panels is 12 noon on Monday, 2 March.

The Returning Officer will complete the panels of candidates on Monday, 9 March and they will be published here.

Who nominates candidates for election to the vocational panels?

Each vocational panel comprises two sub-panels. A certain minimum number of members must be elected for each sub-panel.

  • Nominating bodies sub-panel Each nominating body registered in respect of a panel may nominate a fixed number of candidates for that panel.
  • Oireachtas sub-panel Any four members of the newly elected Dáil or outgoing Seanad may nominate one candidate for any panel but each member may join in only one nomination.

How is the Seanad made up?

The Seanad comprises 60 members, of whom 43 are elected from panels of candidates representing specified vocational interests. A further 6 members are elected by university graduates and 11 members are nominated by the Taoiseach.

About the Seanad panels

Cultural and educational panel - 5 members
Agricultural panel - 11 members
Labour panel - 11 members
Industrial and commercial panel - 9 members
Administrative panel - 7 members
National University of Ireland (NUI) - 3 members
University of Dublin, Trinity College - 3 members
Taoiseach's nominees - 11 members

Contact details

Seanad Returning Officer

Martin Groves

(01) 618 3226

Seanad Office

Leinster House

Kildare Street

D02 XR20