21 Nov 2011, 18.02

Members of the Oireachtas Committee on Communications, Natural Resources and Agriculture will by briefed on the future of Ireland’s offshore exploration tomorrow Tuesday 22 November at 2p.m.

Presenting to the committee will be representatives from The Irish Offshore Operators’ Association (IOOA), the representative organisation for the Irish offshore oil and gas industry, and the SIPTU trade union

Speaking before the meeting, Committee Chairman, Andrew Doyle, TD said:  “The committee looks forward to hearing two distinct perspectives on this complex and emotive issue.”

“Offshore exploration of oil and gas resources, so crucial to the future prosperity and sustainability of the nation, are a priority issue for this committee. This timely meeting will allow committee members engage with approaches of the IOOA and SIPTU on this matter.” 

Access the IOOA’s website and SIPTU’s report on Optimising Ireland’s Oil and Gas Resources, to be presented tomorrow.

This meeting will take place in Committee Room 3. Click to follow proceedings live.


For further information please contact:
Paul Hand,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2

P: +3531 618 4484
F: +3531 618 4551

Committee Membership
Tom Barry, Fine Gael
Michael Colreavy, Sinn Fein
Pat Deering, Fine Gael
Robert Dowds, Labour Party
Andrew Doyle, Fine Gael
Martin Ferris, Sinn Fein
Noel Harrington, Fine Gael
Martin Heydon, Fine Gael
Colm Keaveney, Labour Party
Mattie McGrath, Independent
Michael McNamara, Labour Party
Michael Moynihan, Fianna Fail
Éamon Ó Cuív, Fianna Fail
John O’Mahony, Fine Gael
Thomas Pringle, Independent
Michael Comiskey, Fine Gael
Paschal Mooney, Fianna Fail
Pat O’Neill, Fine Gael
Mary Ann O’Brien, Labour Party
Brian Ó Domhnaill, Fianna Fail
John Whelan, Labour Party