Skip to main content
Normal View

Committee to consider public petitions received

8 Apr 2014, 17.10

The Oireachtas Joint Committee on Public Service Oversight and Petitions will tomorrow afternoon consider another batch of public petitions received.

8 April 2014

The petitions relate to:

  • 9 (2013) The perceived failure by the State to provide an independent process of appeal against a VEC’s refusal to provide qualified pay or increments for prior approved teaching service in the EU;
  • 23 (2013) Dispute between Petitioner and the Department of Enterprise, Trade and Employment/ Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation;
  • 8(2014) Access to Dáil and Seanad public galleries

Chairman of the Committee Pádraig Mac Lochlainn TD says: “Our Committee looks forward to carefully considering petitions received from members of the public on a range of issues, including policy relating to access to the Dáil and Seanad public galleries, a dispute between the petitioner and the Department of Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation and the perceived lack of an appeals process against a VEC decision related to teaching service.”

“Committee Members continue to encourage any individual citizen or group with concerns around the delivery of public services to make a petition, which will be carefully considered by the Committee. There is a standard form which we request all petitioners to complete, which is available at and can be completed and submitted online, emailed or sent by post.”

The meeting takes place tomorrow Wednesday 9 April in Committee Room 3, LH 2000 at 4 pm. It will commence in private session and revert to public session at 4:45 pm. Public proceedings can be viewed online here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.

Get involved and access petitions website.

Media enquiries to:
Paul Hand,
Communications Unit,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2
P: +3531 618 4484
M: +353 87 694 9926

Committee Membership
Deputies: Richard Boyd Barrett, Charles Flanagan, Noel Harrington, Michael Healy-Rae, Seamus Kirk, Michael Kitt, Pádraig Mac Lochlainn (Chair), Michael McCarthy, Helen McEntee, Michelle Mulherin, Derek Nolan (Vice-Chair), Patrick O’Donovan, Aengus Ó Snodaigh, Jack Wall and Mick Wallace
Senators: Jimmy Harte, Tony Mulcahy, Trevor Ó Clochartaigh and Susan O’Keeffe