6 May 2014, 17.34

Representatives from Christian Aid Ireland come before the Oireachtas Joint Committee on Foreign Affairs and Trade tomorrow to discuss their work, with specific reference to issues in Angola and Sierra Leone.

6 May 2014

Sorley McCaughey, Head of Policy and Advocacy and Karol Balfe, Advisor on Governance, Peace Building and Human Rights will address the Committee.

Chairman of the Committee Pat Breen TD says: “Christian Aid Ireland works to overcome poverty in some of the world’s poorest communities in around 50 countries worldwide. As well as delivering an overview of the agency’s work in these countries, Mr McCaughey and Ms Balfe are expected to outline specific concerns in relation to Angola and Sierra Leone.

“Christian Aid has been highlighting the deteriorating humanitarian situation in Angola, with over 1.8 million people experiencing food insecurity due to poor harvests. Despite a rapidly developing economy, inequality in Angola remains stark and the presentation tomorrow is expected to point to shortcomings in the Angolan government response to the impending crisis.

“Tomorrow’s meeting will also include a discussion on evidence that Sierra Leone, one of the poorest countries in Africa, spent more on tax breaks for multinationals than on its development priorities, with mining firms the biggest beneficiaries.”

The meeting takes place tomorrow Wednesday 7 May at 2:30 pm in Committee Room 1, LH 2000. It can be viewed online here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.

Media enquiries to:
Paul Hand,
Communications Unit,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2
P: +3531 618 4484
M: +353 87 694 9926

Committee on Foreign Affairs and Trade
Pat Breen, Fine Gael (Chairman)
Eric Byrne, Labour
Bernard Durkan, Fine Gael (Vice-Chairman)
Seán Crowe, Sinn Féin
Olivia Mitchell, Fine Gael
Gerald Nash, Labour
Dan Neville, Fine Gael
Brendan Smith, Fianna Fáil
Maureen O’Sullivan, Independent

Deirdre Clune, Fine Gael
Mark Daly, Fianna Fáil
Lorraine Higgins, Labour
Michael Mullins, Fine Gael
David Norris, Independent
Jim Walsh, Fianna Fáil