Skip to main content
Normal View

HSE to brief Health Committee on medical card service

8 Dec 2015, 14.41

The Joint Committee on Health and Children will convene tomorrow to discuss the operation of the medical card service.

8th December 2015

Appearing before the Committee will be:

• Ms. Anne Marie Hoey, Assistant National Director, Primary Care Reimbursement and Eligibility, HSE.

Committee Chair, Jerry Buttimer TD, says, “The medical card service is one of the most common issues which Members of this Committee, and indeed Members from across both the Dáil and the Seanad, are contacted about. We frequently hear about the difficulties people across the country have in relation to medical cards.”

“Tomorrow’s meeting is a valuable opportunity to engage directly with the HSE on the matter. A fair and humane system of allocation which operates efficiently is our Committee’s priority, and we look forward to a very productive meeting tomorrow.”

The meeting will start in Committee Room 1, LH 2000, at 2.30pm tomorrow, Wednesday, 9th  December 2015.

Committee proceedings can be followed live here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.


Media Enquiries:

Nuala Walsh,
Communications Unit,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2
P: +353 1 618 3437 / M: +353 86 4100 898

Committee Membership

Chairman: Jerry Buttimer


Catherine Byrne, Ciara Conway (Vice-Chair), Regina Doherty, Peter M Fitzpatrick, Seamus Healy, Billy Kelleher, Eamonn Maloney, Clare Daly, Sandra McLellan, Joe Costello, Dan Neville, Mary Mitchell O’Connor, Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin and Robert Troy


Colm Burke, Thomas Byrne, John Crown, John Gilroy, Imelda Henry and Jillian Van Turnhout