22 Nov 2016, 17.13

22 November 2016

The Joint Committee on Transport, Tourism and Sport will tomorrow meet to resume their considerations on a vision for public transport, including levels of State subvention. In this meeting, the Committee will focus on the greater Dublin area.

The Committee will hear from Ms. Anne Graham, Chief Executive Officer, National Transport Authority; Mr. Dick Brady, Assistant Chief Executive, Dublin City Council; Mr. Gerry Madden, Managing Director, TransDev; Mr. Conor Faughnan, Director of Consumer Affairs, AA Ireland and Mr. Kevin Traynor, National Director, Coach Tourism and Transport Council of Ireland.

The meeting will commence at 1.30pm in Committee Room 3 tomorrow, Wednesday, 23 November 2016.

Committee Chairman, Brendan Griffin TD, said “In this meeting we will turn our attention to the greater Dublin Area when considering a vision for public transport. Dublin is a city with a rapidly expanding population, currently over 1.3 million people, and this brings with it its own unique challenges in terms of transport. When the surrounding commuter areas are also taken into account it is clear that we need a clear and manageable transport vision, including how it will be funded.”

“Tomorrow we will meet with representatives of the National Transport Authority, Dublin City Council, TransDev, AA Ireland and the Coach Tourism and Transport Council of Ireland. All of which will have a vital role in future transport provision, as our needs increase, and the Committee welcome this opportunity to engage with the representative bodies.”

Committee proceedings can be viewed live here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.


Media enquiries

Liam O'Brien
Houses of the Oireachtas
Communications Unit
Leinster House
Dublin 2
+353 1 618 4484
+353 86 189 5098

Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee membership


Anti-Austerity Alliance - People Before Profit

Sinn Féin

Social Democrats

Fine Gael

Fianna Fáil

Fianna Fáil


Fine Gael

Fine Gael

Fianna Fáil