31 Jan 2017, 16.16

31 January 2017

The Joint Committee on Transport, Tourism and Sport will meet tomorrow to continue their considerations of the challenges, strategies and governance of sport in Ireland. In the next in a series of meetings, the Committee will hear from the Minster for Transport, Tourism and Sport, Shane Ross TD, and the Minister of State for Tourism and Sport, Patrick O’Donovan TD.  

The meeting will commence at 1.30pm in Committee Room 3 tomorrow, Wednesday, 1 February 2017.

Committee Chairman, Brendan Griffin TD, said “As the Committee continue their considerations on Sport in Ireland, we now welcome the opportunity to hear from those with responsibility for Government policy in the area. Research from the Federation of Irish Sport estimates that sport in Ireland provides over 40,000 jobs annually and contributes almost €1.9 billion to the economy through household spending. This scale illustrates the important contribution that sport makes to the Irish economy and brings into sharp focus the need to support, nurture and grow the area through strategic Government action.”

“Committee Members will look to discuss a range of topics with Ministers Ross and O’Donovan tomorrow including what action is being taken to encourage sport at competitive and recreational level, how performance standards are being supported and how facilities at national, regional and local level are being advanced. We will also continue our discussions on Government proposals to introduce gender quotas on State sponsored sport boards.”

Committee proceedings can be viewed live here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.


Media enquiries

Liam O'Brien
Houses of the Oireachtas
Communications Unit
Leinster House
Dublin 2
+353 1 618 4484
+353 86 189 5098

Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee membership


Anti-Austerity Alliance - People Before Profit

Sinn Féin

Social Democrats

Fine Gael

Fianna Fáil

Fianna Fáil


Fine Gael

Fine Gael

Fianna Fáil