19 Sep 2017, 09.30

The Oireachtas Committee on Transport, Tourism and Sport will meet with Dr Declan Bedford, Chairman Designate of the Medical Bureau of Road Safety and Dr Joseph Hiney, Chairman Designate of Drogheda Port Company tomorrow, Wednesday, 20 September.

The schedule for the meeting is:

Session A: Engagement with Dr Declan Bedford, Chairman Designate, Medical Bureau of Road Safety.
Session B: Engagement with Dr Joseph Hiney, Chairman Designate,Drogheda Port Company.

Committee Chair, Deputy O’Dowd said: “Those who are being proposed for appointment as chairpersons of State boards are now required to make themselves available to the appropriate Oireachtas Committee. Tomorrow, we will meet with Dr Declan Bedford of the Motor Bureau of Road Safety which is responsible for the analysis of blood and urine samples and the issuing of certificates indicating the level of alcohol, or the presence of drugs, in the samples in relation to cases of drink or drug driving. The Bureau issues certificates in respect of the results of these analyses, which may be used in prosecutions for such offences. Our meeting tomorrow will provide Dr Bedford with an opportunity to discuss what he sees are the priorities and challenges for the bureau. Committee members will also have a chance to raise any issues they may have regarding the bureau.

Following our engagement with Dr Bedford, we will hear from Dr Joseph Hiney, Chairman Designate with Drogheda Port Company, a commercial state port which handles over 1 million tonnes of cargo annually in addition to over 700 vessel calls. Again, we will have a chance to discuss the priorities and challenges for the port company in the coming years.

The Committee does not have a blocking role in these appointments and following the discussion tomorrow, decisions will be taken by the Minister or the Government, as appropriate, to confirm Dr Bedford as Chairman of the Medical Bureau of Road Safety and Dr Joseph Hiney as Chairman of Drogheda Port Company.”

The Committee will meet at 2.15pm, tomorrow, Wednesday, 20 September 2017 in Committee Room 1, Leinster House. Committee proceedings can be viewed live here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.

Media Enquiries

Ciaran Brennan,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2
+353 1 618 3903
+353 86 0496518
Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee membership


Anti-Austerity Alliance - People Before Profit

Sinn Féin

Social Democrats

Fine Gael

Fianna Fáil

Fianna Fáil


Fine Gael

Fine Gael

Fianna Fáil