30 Apr 2018, 15.39

The Committee on Finance, Public Expenditure and Reform, and Taoiseach will resume its hearings on EU proposals for Taxation of the Digital Economy on Tuesday 1 May 2018.

Appearing before the Committee are:

•    Officials from Department of Finance, Mr Brendan Crowley, Principal Officer and Mr Michail Panteris, EU Tax Division

•    Representatives from Office of the Revenue Commissioners, Ms Kate Levey, Principal Officer and Ms Maeve O'Malley, Assistant Principal, EU Branch, International Tax Division  

Committee Chairman John McGuinness TD said: “Tomorrow we will continue our hearings on EU proposals for taxation of the digital economy. In March the EU Commission published two proposals - a common reform of the EU's corporate tax rules for digital activities; and an interim tax on certain revenue from digital activities. The proposals may carry a number of implications for Ireland in terms of corporation tax revenues and as an attraction for multinational investment. Therefore it is timely and important that we examine the proposals in greater detail. At our meeting we will hear from officials from the Department of Finance and representatives from the Revenue Commissioners.”

Before it meets with officials from the Department of Finance and representatives from the Revenue Commissioners, the Committee will carry out scrutiny of EU Legislative Proposals: Schedule A: COM(2018)147 on Taxation of the Digital Economy; COM(2018)148 on Taxation of the Digital Economy; COM(2018)85 on Electronic Data Processing Techniques in the Union Customs Code; COM(2018)99 on Markets and Financial Instruments; COM(2018)127 on Macro Financial Assistance to Ukraine.

This meeting will start in Committee Room 3, Leinster House at 2pm on Tuesday 1 May 2018. Committee proceedings can be viewed live here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.

Media enquiries

Ciaran Brennan,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2
+353 1 618 3903
+353 86 0496518
Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee membership


Fine Gael

Fine Gael

Sinn Féin

Fianna Fáil

Fianna Fáil

Solidarity - People Before Profit


Fine Gael

Fianna Fáil