3 Dec 2019, 15.01

Representatives from the Department of the Taoiseach will appear before the Joint Committee on the Irish Language, the Gaeltacht and the Islands tomorrow when it meets to discuss the Official Languages Bill and various other matters.

In supporting the work of the Taoiseach and government, the Department of the Taoiseach works with other departments to implement policy primarily through the cabinet committee structure.

Divisions of the Department of the Taoiseach include European Union Division; International Division; Britain and Northern Ireland Division; Social Policy and Public Service Reform Division; Government Secretariat; Protocol and General Division; The Parliamentary Liaison Unit and the Information and Records Management Unit.

As well as supporting the government's policy priorities, the department is responsible for liaising with the President and the Houses of the Oireachtas.

Speaking in advance of the meeting, Committee Chair, Catherine Connolly TD, said, “The Committee welcomes the opportunity to hear from the Department of the Taoiseach regarding commitments to the Irish language. It will be a continuation of the series of meetings regarding the provision of bilingual services and the promotion of the Language within each Department.

“Given the central role the Department of the Taoiseach plays, Tuesday’s opportunity is most welcome. The Committee is eager to learn about the objectives and measures which the Department of the Taoiseach has undertaken to foster the Irish language and bilingual services.”

The meeting will start at 4pm in Committee Room 4, Leinster House.

Committee proceedings can be viewed live 

Learn about the Committee’s recent reports, statements and membership

Media enquiries

Alan Neary
Houses of the Oireachtas
Communications Unit
Leinster House
Dublin 2
+353 1 618 4743
+353 86 010 7500

Twitter: @OireachtasNews