24 Nov 2021, 09.30

The Joint Committee on Tourism, Culture, Arts, Sport and Media will meet at 1.30pm today with the Minister for Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media, Catherine Martin TD, and the Minister for State for the Gaeltacht and Sport, Jack Chambers TD, to discuss the Department’s key priorities and legislation.

Speaking ahead of the meeting in Committee Room 1 of Leinster House, Committee Cathaoirleach Deputy Niamh Smyth said: “The Committee previously met with Ministers Martin and Chambers this time last year and again in April to discuss the Department’s priorities. A key priority for us remains how the Department can continue to assist the tourism and hospitality, arts, culture and sports sectors to recover from the impact of COVID-19.

“While these sectors have all reopened and are able to trade, the current alarming growth in Covid cases has once again affected hospitality and related businesses in the run-up to Christmas. The Committee would like to hear how the Department can continue to support these sectors which play such an important role in our economic and social lives as they recover from the pandemic.

“We are also interested in hearing the Department’s key legislative priorities beyond COVID, including an update on the Online Safety and Media Regulation Bill following the submission last month by the Committee of report on our pre-legislative scrutiny of the General Scheme of the Bill.”

The Joint Committee on Tourism, Culture, Arts, Sport and Media  has 14 Members, nine from the Dáil and five from the Seanad.

The meeting in Committee Room 1 can be viewed live on Oireachtas TV.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.

Media enquiries

Robert Kennedy-Cochrane
Houses of the Oireachtas
Communications Unit
Leinster House
Dublin 2
+353 1 618 4149
+353 85 8707436


Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee membership


Fine Gael


Sinn Féin

Sinn Féin

Fianna Fáil


Fianna Fáil

Fianna Fáil

Labour Party